Photo

Board speedways

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 LB

LB

• 13,578 posts

Posted 08 January 2005 - 17:56

Something that has always interested me but I have very little knowledge about is the board speedways that sprouted up in the US in the early part of the century. They have been mentioned in a couple of books I have read but not really expanded on. How many were there? Is there any photos of them? Did small boys really poke their heads through the rotting boards for a better view? (Can't remember where I got that from but it always stuck in my head as improbable)

What I do know. Well the first was in Playa del Rey California, 1910? Kansas City had one that lasted only two years before rotting away (1922-1924) and the idea spread from coast to coast with there being one built in Fresno and one in Atlantic City and thats about it.. I'm not even 100% positive on the above.

Also were there any board tracks built outside the US?

Advertisement

#2 FrankB

FrankB

• 3,653 posts

Posted 08 January 2005 - 18:14

There was a short lived discussion about board tracks here... http://forums.atlasf...&threadid=74510

#3 harryglorydays

harryglorydays

• 81 posts

Posted 10 January 2005 - 16:47

Some interesting discussion and links on this earlier topic:

http://forums.atlasf...&threadid=74510

#4 D-Type

D-Type

• 9,705 posts

Posted 10 January 2005 - 17:46

Originally posted by FrankB
There was a short lived discussion about board tracks here... http://forums.atlasf...&threadid=74510

Followed two days later by

Originally posted by harryglorydays
Some interesting discussion and links on this earlier topic:

http://forums.atlasf...&threadid=74510

Why make a second reference to the same thread :confused:

#5 billthekat

billthekat

• 337 posts

Posted 10 January 2005 - 17:55

Something from the thread on American going 'round in circles....

Originally posted by Don Capps