Photo

OT - introduce me to UK Club motorsport

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 zac510

zac510

• 1,713 posts

Posted 20 April 2006 - 11:04

Hi, sorry for the OT thread but I can think of no better place to ask! :)

I'm still fairly new to the UK, but now I am established I'd like to start exploring the Club motorsport scene a bit. I've had a look around the ten-tenths forum Calendar but am kind of overwhelmed by the amount of events and acronyms so I thought I'd ask here instead.

I'd like to hear your best recommendations for sub-international level motorsport within around 3 hours of West London. Circuit sprints, hillclimb, historics, rally/cross, I'd like to have a look.

I'll probably have to hire a car and drive out most times so it will be a little bit expensive. I did Goodwood last year and will be doing it again.

Thanks!

Advertisement

#2 David McKinney

David McKinney

• 14,156 posts

Posted 20 April 2006 - 11:16

Depends entirely on your personal interests, zac - favourite period? F1 or other single-seaters (or none)? Production sportscars? Saloons?
Each organising club will have a different emphasis

#3 Cirrus

Cirrus

• 1,753 posts

Posted 20 April 2006 - 11:48

If your interests include 50s/60s/70s saloons, sportscars, GTs and single seaters, then the Brands Superprix (6th and 7th May) is worth a visit. You might even find some TNFers racing there.

#4 zac510

zac510

• 1,713 posts

Posted 20 April 2006 - 11:49

I do have a pretty keen interest in F1 but I'm trying to push that aside for the time being :) The truth is that F1 is expensive and inaccesible compared to almost any other form of motorsport.

My preference would be to see racing that is a little less restricted by the rules and may involve a bit of owner innovation in the build of the car. Dirt or tarmac doesn't matter - I'll spend more than half the day in the pits anyway!