Jump to content


Photo

Engine blow in last lap


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 lerje

lerje
  • New Member

  • 10 posts
  • Joined: March 08

Posted 16 March 2008 - 10:30

I was wondering how rules will be if driver is part of the race result and his engine is needed to change. Is it always place of 10 place punishment to next qualify (and this season first engine change is "free")?

Particulary, if engines of Bourdais's or Raikkonen's cars should change, will they loose free engine change? And if engine change is counted for the car finished race, is it possible for team to request their drop from result (maybe good idea if no points coming) to get free engine change.

br,
lerje

Advertisement

#2 Al.

Al.
  • Member

  • 1,307 posts
  • Joined: June 01

Posted 16 March 2008 - 18:38

Points are award according to the classification published.
To be classified you have to have covered at least 90% of the race.

The FIA's Published Classification has Bourdais and Raikkonen classified 7th and 8th but listed as DNF's

Thus I would assume 2 and 1 points respectively and a free engine and gearbox change each for Malaysia.

#3 512 TR

512 TR
  • Member

  • 2,205 posts
  • Joined: April 06

Posted 16 March 2008 - 18:41

The engine rules and points awarded have nothing to do with each other.

Both Ferrari's may change their engines without losing the "no penalty at first engine change" get-out-of-jail-free card. Or whatever... :)

#4 lerje

lerje
  • New Member

  • 10 posts
  • Joined: March 08

Posted 17 March 2008 - 14:22

So, if you get DNF from previous race, you are allowed for free engine/transmission change and position does not mater - even win. That sounds reasonable. Only minor problem is that in case of Raikkonen in Melbourne instead of finishing the line as a last car you should end the race to pit to get DNF.

#5 brett_sequeira

brett_sequeira
  • Member

  • 2,711 posts
  • Joined: March 01

Posted 17 March 2008 - 14:34

Could some one make a list of which all teams have an engine change/gearbox change needed for the race in Malaysia

#6 Suntrek

Suntrek
  • Member

  • 1,779 posts
  • Joined: August 07

Posted 17 March 2008 - 14:41

Originally posted by lerje
So, if you get DNF from previous race, you are allowed for free engine/transmission change and position does not mater - even win. That sounds reasonable. Only minor problem is that in case of Raikkonen in Melbourne instead of finishing the line as a last car you should end the race to pit to get DNF.


No you can't do that, that's what Honda (?) tried in 2005 and the rule had to be changed subsequently. You have to be judged as DNF for "reasons beyond your control" or something like that. (Can't be bothered to look it up in the rules right now)