Info on some secondary US drivers

• Please log in to reply
116 replies to this topic

#1 Wark611

Wark611

• 47 posts

Posted 02 May 2008 - 09:53

Hello,
my name is Davide Marchi, I'm an Italian journalist, I'm looking for infos on some US drivers that, even marginally, were involved in F.1 during that period (1950-1960).

- Joe Giba
Did not qualify at 1958 Indianapolis 500
- I need his date of death (I only now is October 1986 but I don't know on which day)

- Bill Doster
I only know he tried to qualify for Indy 1953 on a Volker-Offenhauser by Olszeswki. I also know he tried twice to race at Detroit in 1951 and 1953.
I need his date of birth and birthplace and (eventually) the one of death and the place.

- Jim Mayes
DId not qualify a Kurtis-Offy by Dr. Morris at the 1953 Indianapolis 500
I need his date of birth and birthplace and (eventually) the one of death and the place.

- Dick Page
Did not qualify a car that probably was a Kurtis-Offy by Bardahl/Page (probably is own team in part) at the 1951 Indisnapolis 500. I say "probably" because on the same year he drove that car at a race at San Jose.
I also need confermation of the car he drove at Indy

- Roscoe Rann
Did not qualify at 1951 Indianapolis 500.
I don't know on what chassis-engine and team

- Albert Scully
Did not arrive, but was entered, at 1952 Indianapolis 500 on a car entered by Ellen Automic team. I need to know the chassis and the engine.
I also know he was from Chicago but I don't know his birthdate and (eventually) his deathdate and place

- Roy Sherman, born Roy Scheuermann
Did not qualify at the 1951 Indianapolis 500.
I don't know on what chassis-engine and team even if that year he drove at Langhorne and Darlington on a Silnes/Sherman-Offy by Leitenberge, so probably he was driving the same car at Indy too

and finally

- Ben Zukor
Was entered but then declined due to phisical problems at 1950 Indianapolis 500.
I don't know on what chassis-engine and team