Photo

Picture identification please

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 penske1414

penske1414

• 13 posts

Posted 28 February 2009 - 06:45

i know these were taken at michigan international but i have nothing else. sometime in the middle or early 80's (THE PONTIAC FIERO). thanks for any assistance.
Posted Image

Posted Image

Advertisement

#2 eurocardoc

eurocardoc

• 157 posts

Posted 28 February 2009 - 19:26

!984?

Pete Halesmer (sp?)?

#3 Lotus23

Lotus23

• 1,006 posts

Posted 01 March 2009 - 00:10

I'm no expert, but certainly looks like Pete Halsmer from here...

#4 Jonathan

Jonathan

• 6,548 posts

Posted 01 March 2009 - 03:40

Based on the V6 Pontiac Fieros in the background of the first photo it has to be from 1986 or '87.

#5 jm70

jm70

• 143 posts

Posted 01 March 2009 - 14:52

Second photo driver looks like EFR to me.

#6 Nigel Beresford

Nigel Beresford

• 1,087 posts

Posted 01 March 2009 - 15:26

Originally posted by B Squared
"Based on the V6 Pontiac Fieros in the background of the first photo it has to be from 1986 or '87." Jonathon

The Fiero was Pace Car in 1984. I'm 99.9% sure that the person ID'ed as Peter Halsmer is incorrect. See attached photo. Pete is a the left at MIS in 1983 with his Arciero/ Penske PC10.

Posted Image
photo:B² Design

Looking at the front suspension, I'm unconvinced that this is an IndyCar. Super Vee was running with CART at that time. I don't see the regulars from the Horton Safety Team (Steve Edwards, Neal Carter, Skip Richmond, Dave Hollander, Greg Passauer, Dr. Steve Olvey) in these shots either. I could be mistaken though.

Brian

You may be right. If you look at the (uncaptioned) picture in its original context, in the book "Speed" by Chet Jezierski (P163), there is clearly a VW patch on the driver's uniform. Also the name embroidery doesn't really look like "Pete Halsmer". The front tyres look very small too.

Thanks

Nigel

#7 WGD706

WGD706

• 956 posts

Posted 01 March 2009 - 16:28