Photo

Need 917/30 photos - CAM2 or Otis Chandler's car

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Cam2InfoNeeded

Cam2InfoNeeded

• 206 posts

Posted 18 September 2009 - 02:46

Hi guys! I'm a newbie and just signed on.

My main question is this: I am working with a couple of other model car enthusiasts to try to come up with some good detail photos of the intercooler set-up on the CanAm Porsche 917/30-003. It was the main Penske car, also the Cam2 Talladega record setter, and was sold to Otis Chandler, then Jack Setton.

There is a very nicely made model of the Cam2 car in 1/18 (by Exoto), but is has none of the special changes made to the car to go from the Sunoco road racing car, to the World Speed Record Cam2 car in 1975. Exoto only did a repaint of the Sunoco car (well, they did put the passenger-side cockpit cover and wheel dishes on some versions), and it had none of the special components for the intercoolers made for Mark by Porsche. We've found very few period photos with these details, but fortunately the car kept all of the changes when it passed from Penske to Mr. Chandler. Mr. Chandler was very open about bringing the car to numerous Porsche vintage events, so probably these photos would be easiest to find. I was told when the car rested in his museum showroom, the engine cover was usually off of the car.

So....can anyone help us? We mainly just need a few good clear closeup photos of the intercoolers and its plumbing.

THANKS!

Edited by Cam2InfoNeeded, 18 September 2009 - 02:53.

Advertisement

#2 Duc-Man

Duc-Man

• 1,394 posts

Posted 18 September 2009 - 15:04

First: welcome.

Are you sure the car had an intercooler? The only cooler I know of is the oilradiator in the front.

I have the B. Betti cutaway of the sunoco car in a book and it doesn't show an intercooler as well.

I post a small scan in the cutaway threat.

Frank

#3 Cam2InfoNeeded

Cam2InfoNeeded

• 206 posts

Posted 18 September 2009 - 18:37

Frank,