Jump to content


Photo

Paul Ricard's grandstand status


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 jeze

jeze
  • Member

  • 2,973 posts
  • Joined: September 08

Posted 22 January 2010 - 16:50

I recall that Paul Ricard didn't arrange any races at all during the initial say seven years of Bernie's ownership, but now it is going to arrange two heavyweight sportscar events in 2010. First, the 8 Hours of Castellet in Le Mans Series, followed by a World GT1 Championship round in the summer.

So now I do wonder if those races can only be attended by VIP's and media, and if that's the case - how the f*ck can FIA allow Ratel to arrange a FIA-sanctioned World Championship event without any spectators having the possibility watching the races? I know it works fine in Turkey, but :drunk:

Advertisement

#2 Victor_RO

Victor_RO
  • RC Forum Host

  • 2,769 posts
  • Joined: March 09

Posted 22 January 2010 - 16:51

Grandstands are slowly being rebuilt around the place. There was a 5000-seat one for the Le Mans test last year, and it proved such a success, as it seems, that they're probably rebuilding several grandstands.

#3 byronbolscher

byronbolscher
  • Member

  • 242 posts
  • Joined: November 09

Posted 22 January 2010 - 16:55

Grandstands are slowly being rebuilt around the place. There was a 5000-seat one for the Le Mans test last year, and it proved such a success, as it seems, that they're probably rebuilding several grandstands.


Bernie smells money, Bernie wants it.

#4 highdownforce

highdownforce
  • Member

  • 3,677 posts
  • Joined: May 09

Posted 22 January 2010 - 16:55

I recall that Paul Ricard didn't arrange any races at all during the initial say seven years of Bernie's ownership, but now it is going to arrange two heavyweight sportscar events in 2010. First, the 8 Hours of Castellet in Le Mans Series, followed by a World GT1 Championship round in the summer.

So now I do wonder if those races can only be attended by VIP's and media, and if that's the case - how the f*ck can FIA allow Ratel to arrange a FIA-sanctioned World Championship event without any spectators having the possibility watching the races? I know it works fine in Turkey, but :drunk:

There was an FIA GT race last year.

#5 One

One
  • Member

  • 6,527 posts
  • Joined: May 06

Posted 22 January 2010 - 17:06

Well good news, in't it?

#6 Clatter

Clatter
  • Member

  • 27,233 posts
  • Joined: February 00

Posted 22 January 2010 - 17:12

Grandstands are slowly being rebuilt around the place. There was a 5000-seat one for the Le Mans test last year, and it proved such a success, as it seems, that they're probably rebuilding several grandstands.


Didn't know they had built any. I've always been a bit surprised that they hadn't put them in and start hosting races.

Are the ones going in permanent structures or scaffold type?

#7 wj_gibson

wj_gibson
  • Member

  • 2,091 posts
  • Joined: January 05

Posted 22 January 2010 - 17:21

Didn't know they had built any. I've always been a bit surprised that they hadn't put them in and start hosting races.

Are the ones going in permanent structures or scaffold type?


And thus a French GP venue, oui?

#8 Clatter

Clatter
  • Member

  • 27,233 posts
  • Joined: February 00

Posted 22 January 2010 - 18:36

And thus a French GP venue, oui?


Curious to know considering the stick he has given Silverstone over their grandstands.

#9 jeze

jeze
  • Member

  • 2,973 posts
  • Joined: September 08

Posted 22 January 2010 - 20:32

Curious to know considering the stick he has given Silverstone over their grandstands.


Yes, it would certainly be great if they had say 50 000 seats, and could arrange DTM, Le Mans, GT1 and maybe other series' as well. I would certainly enjoy going there to watch a race, rather than at other tracks, and combining maybe even a Grand Prix with a holiday at the riviera, could it be better :clap:

The bad thing is that the runoffs are so big that Bernie could make an alternative line there :lol:

#10 Obster

Obster
  • Member

  • 93 posts
  • Joined: March 05

Posted 01 February 2010 - 21:54

I seem to remember they had a funny pit exit at one time, with an additional exit for the upper part of the pitlane. Do this still exist?

#11 Victor_RO

Victor_RO
  • RC Forum Host

  • 2,769 posts
  • Joined: March 09

Posted 01 February 2010 - 21:56

I seem to remember they had a funny pit exit at one time, with an additional exit for the upper part of the pitlane. Do this still exist?


No. From every picture I could see of the new track, the dual pitlane and the bridge are gone.