Jump to content


Photo

Logitech, and related, compatible with mac?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Spa One

Spa One
  • Member

  • 344 posts
  • Joined: August 09

Posted 09 September 2010 - 10:47

Hi,

Just bought a new quad core imac and hope to run iracing and rfactor pretty soon.

I just need some pretty simple tech advice.

I will run windows 7 via boot camp on the mac when i plan to run the games. Does anyone see any issues with this?

Also, if I buy a logitech g25, will i be able to run it on my mac with windows? Someone told me the wheels probably wouldn't work on a mac. Not sure why, connections???

Thanks in advance

Advertisement

#2 klyster

klyster
  • Member

  • 4,260 posts
  • Joined: October 08

Posted 09 September 2010 - 11:02

From what I've read, it should work fine under boot camp.

Here's a vid even.
http://en.kendincos....gitech-g25.html

When running native in OSX, you'll get only 200 degrees lock, no clutch pedal and no H shift, apparently.

Edited by klyster, 09 September 2010 - 11:07.


#3 Chezrome

Chezrome
  • Member

  • 1,218 posts
  • Joined: March 09

Posted 09 September 2010 - 16:28

From what I've read, it should work fine under boot camp.

Here's a vid even.
http://en.kendincos....gitech-g25.html

When running native in OSX, you'll get only 200 degrees lock, no clutch pedal and no H shift, apparently.


I'd have to say that pretty much every USB device running through Windows via Boot Camp works perfectly... except... except for force feedback. That's my experience with my Xbox 360 controller anyways. And with a Logitech wheel that would be a shame.

#4 klyster

klyster
  • Member

  • 4,260 posts
  • Joined: October 08

Posted 09 September 2010 - 19:58

Yeah, the Xbox 360wireless racing wheel didn't support FF on Windows Vista or 7 natively anyway, so I sold mine and got a Logitech :D


#5 wewantourdarbyback

wewantourdarbyback
  • Member

  • 6,358 posts
  • Joined: September 08

Posted 09 September 2010 - 21:13

I just need to install 7 on my iMac quad core again. It's failed to work twice now.

#6 Spa One

Spa One
  • Member

  • 344 posts
  • Joined: August 09

Posted 09 September 2010 - 23:43


Thanks guys, it looks more promising now. :)



#7 TennisUK

TennisUK
  • Member

  • 1,772 posts
  • Joined: March 06

Posted 10 September 2010 - 19:15

Thanks guys, it looks more promising now. :)

I doubt you'll have any issues whatsoever with a logitech device - an iMac running Windows 7 in bootcamp IS a PC - if there was an issue with the XBOX wheelI suspect it may be driver related (I mean software driver).

I've just bought myself a g27 and a GameRacer Pro seat for My PS3 and maybe Mac Pro if I feel like it. I can't say the wife is thrilled ;)

#8 Raido

Raido
  • Member

  • 72 posts
  • Joined: February 10

Posted 13 September 2010 - 20:30

You can run rFactor (and all its mods/tracks) directly on Mac OS X if you want - no absolute need to install Windows for it and wait for it to boot every time you want to drive - I'm running it through CrossOver Games right now.

Tricky to set up, but it does work fine once it's running (although I have to stick to DX8 gfx for the moment, but that could just be due to my low-end Mac mini).
Does take a bit of CPU power so unless you've got a high-end Mac, no 40-car full fields running. Regular USB wheels and gamepads will function, though FFB probably wouldn't.

To be 100% compatible with all the pc stuff then Boot Camp is still the way to go, but to be able to just fire up rF like a regular OS X program is deeply wonderful. :cool:

Edited by Raido, 13 September 2010 - 20:32.


#9 Mary Popsins

Mary Popsins
  • Member

  • 729 posts
  • Joined: July 09

Posted 19 September 2010 - 09:10

I've just bought myself a g27 and a GameRacer Pro seat for My PS3 and maybe Mac Pro if I feel like it. I can't say the wife is thrilled ;)


lol.

It's always easier to best the toughest games that it is to beat the wife.

I don't know what's new about the G27. I saw a pic, it seems to have more buttons on it. Logitech do excellent products and I'm quite happy with my G25 despite the abundance of cables it takes to make it work.
I was wondering what is best in terms of headphones with a mic. I own a Turtlebeach P21 but my ears don't like it plus it is plugged behind the amp so the games sound is not excellent. Generally I use the amazing Sennheiser PX 100.

Edited by Mary Popsins, 19 September 2010 - 09:11.


#10 Mat

Mat
  • Member

  • 7,674 posts
  • Joined: January 99

Posted 20 September 2010 - 03:39

go the Logitech G35 with regards headsets. I havent noticed any difference in sound quality with regards all the different headsets but the G35's have been, for me, the most comfortable by far.

Also, with regards the G25 vs G27, The G27 uses steel pedals (heavier) while the G25 uses aluminum pedals. The G27 is a slightly larger wheel. G27 also has a leather wrapped steering wheel, while the G25 is fake leather.

G27 no longer has the sequential shifter option (which results in a better H-shifter feel), and it uses helical gears verse the spur gears found in the g25 (which results in a smoother and quieter motion).

G27 also has more buttons. Don't need them for many cars except IRL and F1 though.

#11 Mary Popsins

Mary Popsins
  • Member

  • 729 posts
  • Joined: July 09

Posted 20 September 2010 - 04:02

Thanks Mat.

Will check the G35.

Will make an effort and plug the G25.


#12 klyster

klyster
  • Member

  • 4,260 posts
  • Joined: October 08

Posted 20 September 2010 - 08:21

I have the G27 and G35. Be aware the G35 is computer only, no 3.5mm jack, and also worth thinking about is the new headset G930 which is the wireless version, which IMO would be better as the braided cable on the G35 tends to become audible at low volume when it rubs on stuff.

Also, the G27 has an LED rev counter which the G25 doesn't have. Not a deal breaker, but nice ;)

Edited by klyster, 20 September 2010 - 08:25.


#13 Mat

Mat
  • Member

  • 7,674 posts
  • Joined: January 99

Posted 21 September 2010 - 01:05

the new headset G930 which is the wireless version, which IMO would be better as the braided cable on the G35 tends to become audible at low volume when it rubs on stuff.


Nice, I will be checking those out!

I havent had any problems with my G35 but my cord is still fine.



#14 klyster

klyster
  • Member

  • 4,260 posts
  • Joined: October 08

Posted 21 September 2010 - 05:59

I just notice the sound with the volume turned down, like watching a movie ar whatever, as soon as the volume is up, its no problem ;)
Try putting them on and rubbing the cord with nothing playing, you'll see what I mean, it's no biggie.

#15 Mat

Mat
  • Member

  • 7,674 posts
  • Joined: January 99

Posted 22 September 2010 - 04:28

Try putting them on and rubbing the cord with nothing playing, you'll see what I mean, it's no biggie.


Just tried it. Your right! :)