Jump to content


Leinster Trophy

  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Nanni Dietrich

Nanni Dietrich
  • Member

  • 1,284 posts
  • Joined: February 04

Posted 09 December 2010 - 15:28

According to several accounts "Jock" Horsfall won the Leinster Trophy in 1938, at the wheel of his Aston Martin speed model called "Black Car".
What circuit?
Other starters?


Edited by Nanni Dietrich, 09 December 2010 - 15:29.


#2 Vitesse2

  • Nostalgia Forum Moderator

  • 26,963 posts
  • Joined: April 01

Posted 09 December 2010 - 17:21

Run as a handicap on July 16th on the Tallaght road circuit. Most of the field consisted of local drivers in specials or stripped sports cars.

Horsfall won from Charlie Manders (Adler) with J Elliott (Triumph) third, FD Smyth (Ford) fourth, Ernie Robb (MG) fifth and Tony Rolt (ERA) sixth.

If you PM me your email address, I can send you PDFs of the original practice and race reports - including full results - from the Irish Times.

#3 David McKinney

David McKinney
  • Member

  • 14,156 posts
  • Joined: November 00

Posted 09 December 2010 - 18:12

In the meantime, Rolt was - understandably - fastest on scratch