the first implicates the second.
as i dont want to just debate the first (in the special matter of button-alonso) i posted a general question.
i hope now it is clear!?
No, the first question does not imply the second. The reasoning behind one's answer might
You have obviously decided that the stewards made a "political decision", so let's consider some possible answers to your question(s):"Are political steward decisions good for the sport?" Yes.
Keeping interest in the championship alive is vital to the continuing financial welfare of the sport. Sometimes the good of the sport is best served by being pragmatic rather than being pedantic. Overturning the on-track result after the race is over and the trophies awarded turns the sport into a farce. No.
It is a sport, that means everyone
has to abide by the rules. If the offending driver happened to be the first to finish then that's tough, he only has himself to blame. Relegating the enforcement of the rules to secondary status after commecial/feelgood factors turns the sport into a farce."Would the stewards decide same if that was a title decider between those two?"Yes.
There are other factors outside the enforcement of the rules that mean the stewards are favouring one driver over another. Bernie wants Button to be WDC. Todt wants to make sure he can't be accused of favouring Ferrari so is actively trying to prevent Alonso winning. There would be no point in penalising Alonso as he screwed his own race and any punishment would only look vindictive.No.
The WDC is more important than one race win, so they would consider the implications of allowing McLaren to beat Ferrari more carefully and penalise Button. There is no way they would let a second-rate driver like Button become WDC by bullying his way past the anointed one. They would have to penalise Alonso if it was for the WDC just as they did with Schumacher in '97.Yes.
There is no reason why they should come to a different conclusion.No.
The greater importance of the decision would mean they consider the issue more deeply and realise the truth that Alonso/Button/both drivers should be penalised after all.
It is possible for one person two answer the two questions with: yes/yes; yes/no; no/yes; no/no.