Not comparable with Monaco at all, Hamilton didn't have another car between him and the one he overtook.
That's half the rule, the other half is that he should be aware that a faster car is approaching and may overtake when it's safe to do so
Common, read what both LeMans drivers gave to protocol.
My opinion was and is it's a racing incident, triggered by an opportunistic move of McNish. There were 2 cars ahead of the Ferrari as well, so in the end McNish lunged for a gap that never really existed. The line he took made sense if he could clear the Ferrari quickly enough. That part of the issue becomes crystal clear when you read McNish's comments after the race. He was asked if it's more difficult to overtake since the LPM1 cars have less power than in previous years. He agreed to it. So in the end it's an error of judgment by him.
Still for me it's a racing incident, nothing worth of a penalty.
Edited by HP, 13 June 2011 - 22:58.