Incorrect. He was given a 10s stop go penalty, which he refused to serve, and that is what he was black flagged for. 1994 British GP.
The 10 stop & go penalty was agaist the rules in thoose times. The only legal penalty to MS would be a start from the lat place, but the Stewards miss the opurtunity to do this, so there was no legal way to penalise Schumi then.
But if he had, the rules said in thoose times that the stewards has only 25 minutes from any rule braking to take any legal action. After the 25 minutes there was no way to any penalty.
In 94 Britain the only legal sanction against MS would be a new warm-up lap and a start from the last place.
The stewards might know this because they withdraw their black flag within minutes.
Anf IMHO the black flag comes first
, and then comes the 5 sec stop & go (which also was illegal from the stewards), bacause the stewards realize their mistakes.
+1: in those race there was 2 more driver who overtook in the warm-up lap. In 2003 Raikonnen also overtook RS in the warm-up lap. Neither of them had given any penalty...
Edited by Tarzaan, 06 July 2012 - 09:38.