Photo

V8 vs V6 engines - nostalgia vs modernization

• Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#1 eronrules

eronrules

• 3,395 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 12:05

In recent times, Bernie "scruz mcduck" Eclestone is beating his bushes trying to ban V6 turbos even when he initially seemed to like it and not to mention all the manufacturers have put bucket of wad already developing it.

i seriously doubt Bernie can/should stop the V6 turbo, and frankly i don't see what's the fuss is about. i for one would love to see V6 turbo's (maybe i'm a engineer :smoking: ). they are representative of things that you get in the car that you can afford. Also all the green crap is just BS. it's pretty well known that turbo needs same/more fuel than NA ones (turbo needs power of exhaust gas,it's not free), it's not freaking diesel, so saving fuel is not the issue. i care less about sound, sound is generated by exhaust layout. 6 cylinder can produce the same noise as 8 one's, and i love the sound of turbo wastegates chirping. Also in race, the driver boost management and same fuel for everyone should throw up new strategies and more variables (short overboost for overtaking comes to mind).

also Autosport did a feature on V6 turbos, and specially Renault wants it more than anyone, and seeing the amount of teams they supply engines to, i wouldn't be surprised if in 2014 50% of the teams choose renault over merc/ferrari. Mercedes is also keen on v6 as they've switched to more turbo V6's in their road cars. Only ferrari seems not to like the idea, but honestly, apart from F1 heritage, ferrari is not representive of the wider automotive world.