3D printers impact on F1?

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Jackmancer

Jackmancer

• 3,226 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 07:54

Hey guys,
I'm studying at an art academy (course is advertising), so not really anything F1 related, you would say, especially not technical. But in one class, called Open Design, we discussed the future of 3D printers and open design. There are architects 'printing' houses now. Not in one piece, but piece by piece.

I'm wondering, what if F1 cars, pieces of it, can be printed? What would be the impact? Could 'parts' be modelled during practise and new, adjusted parts, printed inside of the paddock? Can 3D printers print carbon fibre?

I'm really curious.

Advertisement

#2 yoyogetfunky

yoyogetfunky

• 856 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 08:08

Hey guys,
I'm studying at an art academy (course is advertising), so not really anything F1 related, you would say, especially not technical. But in one class, called Open Design, we discussed the future of 3D printers and open design. There are architects 'printing' houses now. Not in one piece, but piece by piece.

I'm wondering, what if F1 cars, pieces of it, can be printed? What would be the impact? Could 'parts' be modelled during practise and new, adjusted parts, printed inside of the paddock? Can 3D printers print carbon fibre?

I'm really curious.

You should check that nice red bull pre launch video, i think its on their website. They seem to be using one.

#3 Fatgadget

Fatgadget

• 6,966 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 08:17

Hey guys,

I'm really curious.

Eh!...How is it possible to 'print' say a piston capable of sustaining extremes of both pressure and temperature?
I think perhaps this topic is best in the technical section of the board! :)

#4 schumimercamg

schumimercamg

• 415 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 08:34

Eh!...How is it possible to 'print' say a piston capable of sustaining extremes of both pressure and temperature?