Jump to content


Photo

TROUBLE POSTING


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 bourbon

bourbon
  • Member

  • 6,947 posts
  • Joined: February 10

Posted 11 September 2013 - 07:06

I have trouble when trying to type posts.  Suddenly the input boxes cease to accept typed letters.  It is as if I have clicked out of the box when I have not.  Also selecting a line and deleting it often highlights the line in grey and nothing is deleted.  It happens in IE, Firefox and Chrome browsers.  Is this a problem with my system and this site or is everyone having this issue?  I note that I do not have this problem on other forums or other websites.

 

Thanks for the help.  

 

***If this is in the wrong place and it is moved, please send an email advising where I can find the answer.  Thank you.



Advertisement

#2 SophieB

SophieB
  • RC Forum Host

  • 2,320 posts
  • Joined: July 12

Posted 11 September 2013 - 07:11

No, I've noticed this same thing just this morning too. IE here.



#3 bourbon

bourbon
  • Member

  • 6,947 posts
  • Joined: February 10

Posted 11 September 2013 - 07:19

Thanks for responding.  

 

Have you reported it?  I don't mind doing it, but I am unsure to whom it should be reported.



#4 SophieB

SophieB
  • RC Forum Host

  • 2,320 posts
  • Joined: July 12

Posted 11 September 2013 - 07:25

Yes, I reported it.



#5 Lights

Lights
  • Member

  • 9,619 posts
  • Joined: February 10

Posted 11 September 2013 - 07:37

I had the same once yesterday when I tried to quote a post and then edit it. 



#6 Buttoneer

Buttoneer
  • RC Forum Admin

  • 16,801 posts
  • Joined: May 04

Posted 11 September 2013 - 08:21

Yup, same here.  I have found that keeping my mouse pointer hovered over the text box eliminated it, although that could just be coincidence.



#7 Allan Lupton

Allan Lupton
  • Member

  • 3,058 posts
  • Joined: March 06

Posted 11 September 2013 - 08:50

I had the same once yesterday when I tried to quote a post and then edit it. 

I can't see a problem with this but it wouldn't let me copy/paste the first 7 words of this line at first.

Then it did, but "delete" worked and "undo" and "paste" didn't until I tryped this - then paste worked and there's the result below.

I can't see a problem with this

 

ETA let's see if edit works:

I just tried to change colour (or even color) and font of those first 7 words and it wouldn't do it.

EATA It seems to need Full Edit to do that - in which case what does the word "edit" mean to whoever set this up.

User-hostile wherever you look.


Edited by Allan Lupton, 11 September 2013 - 08:56.


#8 bourbon

bourbon
  • Member

  • 6,947 posts
  • Joined: February 10

Posted 13 September 2013 - 01:36

Thanks for reporting Sophie.  Sounds like we all had the same issue.  It has improved, so perhaps it is fixed now.