Photo
- - - - -

RBR vs Ferrari where is the differences?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 ZuTiMa

ZuTiMa

• 431 posts

Posted 25 September 2013 - 14:19

Hi, I'm new to the Tech Forum so please excuse if Im asking something that has been discussed.

I would like to know more as to why and what is the differences between these to cars?

Why is there such a big performance gap between the 2?

Does it have to do with the engines that have been frozen for the last few years?

Does it have to do with some form of EBD?

Does it have to do with engine mappings?

Where is the big difference with aero?

Is there perhaps some form of launch / traction control?

I'm no boffin but would like to get better idea why there is such a big gap?

Thanks

Advertisement

#2 dynatune

dynatune

• 5 posts

Posted 25 September 2013 - 15:34

I presume anyone that could answer your question would be directly hired by Ferrari !! .... Although to a newbie the gap may seem enormous, in objective terms by definition in F1 the gap is within 7% (the famous 107% rule for not qualifying). Considering that Ferrari and RBR are not miles apart if on every of your item there is a 1% difference between them (talking about effect on laptime) you would arrive at 104% (leaving out launch control), which would class Ferrari halfway on the grid. So most likely the difference is less and putting my logic to the extreme there might be only 0,5% difference in every area between the cars ..... not such a big gap after all ..
F1 is all about attention to detail to give you the winning edge, there are no easy big hitters, welcome to F1 :clap:

Cheers,
dynatune

#3 munks

munks

• 428 posts

Posted 25 September 2013 - 17:13