Hamilton gets new chassis after cracks discovered

• Please log in to reply
136 replies to this topic

#1 chris1234560

chris1234560

• 14 posts

Posted 14 November 2013 - 22:43

http://www.autosport...t.php/id/111312

A possible cause to Hamiltons issues? Interesting they can't be sure how long the cracks were present.

Advertisement

#2 jrg19

jrg19

• 6,118 posts

Posted 14 November 2013 - 22:48

Maybe it got cracked in Italy when he went off track?

#3 TecnoRacing

TecnoRacing

• 1,796 posts

Posted 14 November 2013 - 22:53

I don't understand how, within a top line f1 team, this type of thing can go 'unnoticed' for more than a single race weekend...

#4 chris1234560

chris1234560

• 14 posts

Posted 14 November 2013 - 22:56

That is my biggest surprise. I'm no engineer but i would of thought checks would be done after each race weekend

#5 olliek88

olliek88

• 4,050 posts

Posted 14 November 2013 - 23:00

He's not been in any sort of accident, not one with an impact anyway, that would warrant a detailed inspection like this. To strip the car right down to the chassis would take some time i imagine & the turn around times in F1 are already tight as it is, they wouldn't do that after every race, its inefficient and unnecessary. Di Resta had the same thing at the end of last season (which people conveniently look over) and the team didn't discover it for several races. Vettel had a cracked chassis in 2010 that was only discovered after Monaco, it happens.

Edited by olliek88, 14 November 2013 - 23:00.

#6 as65p

as65p

• 26,207 posts

Posted 14 November 2013 - 23:06

I always knew it would either be this, or a magnetic glitch in the electronics of his car. Thankfully it's now all fixed and we'll surely see the real Lewis in those last two races, won't we?

#7 senna da silva

senna da silva

• 5,750 posts

Posted 14 November 2013 - 23:07

I don't understand how, within a top line f1 team, this type of thing can go 'unnoticed' for more than a single race weekend...