Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Does anyone still play Microprose grand prix world ?


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Blinkandimgone

Blinkandimgone
  • Member

  • 36 posts
  • Joined: July 12

Posted 01 December 2013 - 22:33

I was in the nostalgia mood tonight and was wondering does anyone still play ?



Advertisement

#2 tommi34

tommi34
  • Member

  • 376 posts
  • Joined: August 09

Posted 01 December 2013 - 23:07

Well sometimes, but can't remember when was the last time, maybe 1-2 years ago.


Edited by tommi34, 01 December 2013 - 23:07.


#3 Blinkandimgone

Blinkandimgone
  • Member

  • 36 posts
  • Joined: July 12

Posted 01 December 2013 - 23:23

Got a great set up for most tracks ( assuming you spend 5 points on each car )

1 x speed 1 x surface 1 x dust 1 x heat 1 x wind



#4 1Devil1

1Devil1
  • Member

  • 2,937 posts
  • Joined: May 12

Posted 01 December 2013 - 23:28

Got a great set up for most tracks ( assuming you spend 5 points on each car )

1 x speed 1 x surface 1 x dust 1 x heat 1 x wind

 

Wait that's not Grand Prix 1? The setups there were different, grand prix world is a different game to Formula One Grand Prix??

Microprose_Grand_Prix_game.jpg


Edited by 1Devil1, 01 December 2013 - 23:28.


#5 Blinkandimgone

Blinkandimgone
  • Member

  • 36 posts
  • Joined: July 12

Posted 01 December 2013 - 23:42

Well my friend yes it is completely different from microprose grand prix 1, Grand prix world is an f1 management team game. although loved mgp1 one of the best !!


Edited by Blinkandimgone, 01 December 2013 - 23:44.


#6 Nemo1965

Nemo1965
  • Member

  • 2,210 posts
  • Joined: October 12

Posted 02 December 2013 - 08:34

I recently tried to play it, because it is freeware now... and I have gp2, gp3 and gp4 on my computer. But my pc doesn't understand the graphics and it plays very low... while it runs the GP4 game flawlessly...



#7 Myrvold

Myrvold
  • Member

  • 2,837 posts
  • Joined: December 10

Posted 02 December 2013 - 17:25

Nah, but I still play Grand Prix Manager 2, and GP3.



#8 The Kanisteri

The Kanisteri
  • Member

  • 10,544 posts
  • Joined: August 99

Posted 04 December 2013 - 09:24

Nah, but I still play Grand Prix Manager 2, and GP3.

Myrvold,

 

Do you happen to have idea if GP3 work with 64 bit Windows 7?



#9 midgrid

midgrid
  • Member

  • 4,793 posts
  • Joined: April 09

Posted 04 December 2013 - 20:54

I bought a new laptop last week with Windows 8 OS.  Yesterday I decided to install my old copy of Grand Prix 3 and it worked fine, albeit after I adjusted the graphics settings.



#10 Nemo1965

Nemo1965
  • Member

  • 2,210 posts
  • Joined: October 12

Posted 05 December 2013 - 10:39

Myrvold,

 

Do you happen to have idea if GP3 work with 64 bit Windows 7?

 

It does, but you have to fiddle with the settings. What probably works: right click on the program and make it run under an older version of Windows.



#11 Myrvold

Myrvold
  • Member

  • 2,837 posts
  • Joined: December 10

Posted 30 December 2013 - 04:18

Myrvold,

 

Do you happen to have idea if GP3 work with 64 bit Windows 7?

You've already got your answer. I'm using it to run in XP mode, and, I'm using GPxPatch ;) With mods it do get the pink stripes bug on the tires, sometimes even the "billboard tires" bug, but I can live with that! :)



#12 g1n

g1n
  • Member

  • 877 posts
  • Joined: February 11

Posted 18 January 2014 - 20:26

Unofficial patch has been out for this for some time now, amongst other things changes the points system to the 2010 one, 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1 for the top 10 :)

http://www.gprm.co.u...hp?topic=5824.0



#13 jowans90

jowans90
  • New Member

  • 1 posts
  • Joined: April 14

Posted 06 May 2014 - 22:23

anyone still playing GPW?


Edited by jowans90, 06 May 2014 - 22:24.


#14 Jimisgod

Jimisgod
  • Member

  • 2,813 posts
  • Joined: July 09

Posted 28 July 2014 - 15:25

Tried it today. Very fun but I'd love an Android remake.

#15 djfil007

djfil007
  • New Member

  • 1 posts
  • Joined: August 14

Posted 13 August 2014 - 20:54

Tried to get it to work on Win 7 x64 SP1.  Trying a few of the different available patches, and having success with setting to "Windows 98/ME" comparability mode, I was never able to see my mouse cursor.  The main menu loaded and displayed just fine, and I could highlight\click buttons by guessing where my mouse was... but that's not really playable.  Anyone else seen this?  Any ideas how to get around this?



#16 HuddersfieldTerrier1986

HuddersfieldTerrier1986
  • Member

  • 1,951 posts
  • Joined: May 11

Posted 21 August 2014 - 21:21

I guess the only way to get GPW nowadays is still by buying the game at silly cost on ebay or something?



#17 Myrvold

Myrvold
  • Member

  • 2,837 posts
  • Joined: December 10

Posted 08 September 2014 - 03:05

I guess the only way to get GPW nowadays is still by buying the game at silly cost on ebay or something?

Correct, I got it for 2 EUR from a friend some years ago. Consider myself lucky.

Of course, you can take a Jack Sparrow-trip...