Photo

Travelling Marshals

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 carrotcruncher

carrotcruncher

• 100 posts

Posted 01 April 2014 - 14:52

Does anyone remember Travelling Marshalls, mostly in the sixties I think, when after each bike race a couple of guys got to ride the circuit,presumably checking for any dropped fluids or bits of bikes?

I was always a bit envious of them although it seemed their laps were rather pedestrian by comparison with the races, AND they always had nice bikes.

Was this a mandatory requirement by the ACU and did it happen at all circuits.

Can anyone recall when it stopped and the reason for that.

Regards to all,

carrotcruncher(David)                                       

Advertisement

#2 Robin127

Robin127

• 506 posts

Posted 01 April 2014 - 17:04

I worked as a Travelling Marshall at a meeting at Snetterton in the late 80's.  I soon found out that my road bike didn't handle nearly as well as I thought it did.

#3 Paul Collins

Paul Collins

• 978 posts

Posted 01 April 2014 - 20:48

As far as I know they still have them at UK meetings, they certainly still have them here on the IOM, and as they move around during the races and practices they ride at race speed, but as all of the lads are ex TT riders and most are ex winners they have no problem running at race pace.

The Travelling Marshal job is a little different here, the way the system works is that there are something like 8 of them stationed at various points out on the circuit, each covering the sector in front of them, if an incident occurs in their sector they will attend if required and then once cleared up will move on to the end of that sector, so when a TM advances the one in the previous sector will move forward and take his place, and so on, thus after an incident requiring the TM to attend each TM will move forward one sector if you see what I mean.  

Edited by Paul Collins, 01 April 2014 - 20:52.

#4 275 GTB-4

275 GTB-4

• 8,274 posts