Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

F1 1965 mod V2 released ( rFactor )


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Siddley

Siddley
  • Member

  • 159 posts
  • Joined: February 14

Posted 13 May 2014 - 23:42

The latest version of F1 1965 is out, together with a '65 season track pack and it's marvellous.

If you like historic open wheel racing but haven't checked out these pocket rockets yet then you should. They are very,very sweet to drive and provide loads of feedback. Not much grip or power but plenty of fun.

The AI is extremely well done, which means they are simply crappy rather than psychotic - they'll punt you in braking zones and back off for no reason in fast corners, but the mod team have done a great job using what rFactor gave them to work with.

 

The frame rates are superb, my PC is ancient and I can run a grid of 24 cars at pretty high graphics settings.

 

Check it out if you like historic cars, the download links are in the usual places.



Advertisement

#2 chunder27

chunder27
  • Member

  • 804 posts
  • Joined: October 11

Posted 14 May 2014 - 22:07

IS the mod a league based mod ie all cars are the same power and physics wise?

 

Or is it what you would call an historic mod, meaning all the different cars ahve different physics, power, characteristics?



#3 Siddley

Siddley
  • Member

  • 159 posts
  • Joined: February 14

Posted 15 May 2014 - 00:19

It's not league based. The cars have different physics, engines and gearboxes. Only the tyres are common, like you would expect.
I'm using LeoFFB and it provides a huge amount of feedback. Given the fact that I'm not the best sim racing guy around the cars seem to suit me.

I would love to race this mod online but only against opponents who are using a H pattern shifter and heel and toe.
 

I reckon you'll like it a lot, given your interest in historic F1, give it a go and let us know what you think.



#4 chunder27

chunder27
  • Member

  • 804 posts
  • Joined: October 11

Posted 15 May 2014 - 07:53

Sidd

 

Believe me it makes no difference who is using what gears and clutch wise.

The people who develop the mod will wnat everyone to be able to play it, so you will be able to turn all that off and play with a pad!

 

Most devs though will give people who use gears and stuff a very small advantage, to make it profitable to use them.

 

Plus its more fun!



#5 Siddley

Siddley
  • Member

  • 159 posts
  • Joined: February 14

Posted 15 May 2014 - 13:29

I've watched replays of online historic races and it seems to me that the only way to be in contention is to use the semiauto option. That's just my opinion though, I'm not stating it as a fact.

 

I don't blame the mod builders, I'm glad that historic cars are made available to everyone, even if they drive with a keyboard.

But it would be easy enough to run a series that banned semiautos, there isn't any way to hide it's use from a replay. Maybe someone does and I just don't know about it ?

 



#6 chunder27

chunder27
  • Member

  • 804 posts
  • Joined: October 11

Posted 16 May 2014 - 10:57

It feels pretty gooa actually.

 

Cars are quite tricky, I only drove a few and the tyres just let go like that!

 

Will look for a track pack and there wasnt one included in my download.

 

Sounds are superb though.

 

There are no options ot select semi auto or anything, so I just turn off auto clutch and blip away!



#7 Siddley

Siddley
  • Member

  • 159 posts
  • Joined: February 14

Posted 16 May 2014 - 14:53

The track pack is very good, but there are a few small issues with it. Fuel consumption figures on the setup menu get underestimated by about a third, which I believe is down to the track config file and there are odd glitches like not being able to see the start lights at Monza from the front of the grid.



#8 Nemo1965

Nemo1965
  • Member

  • 1,600 posts
  • Joined: October 12

Posted 16 May 2014 - 20:06

The track pack is very good, but there are a few small issues with it. Fuel consumption figures on the setup menu get underestimated by about a third, which I believe is down to the track config file and there are odd glitches like not being able to see the start lights at Monza from the front of the grid.

 

Is it rFactor 2 or 1, Siddley?



#9 R Soul

R Soul
  • Member

  • 573 posts
  • Joined: August 06

Posted 16 May 2014 - 20:22

But it would be easy enough to run a series that banned semiautos, there isn't any way to hide it's use from a replay. Maybe someone does and I just don't know about it ?

In the Historic GT mod those who only use two pedals will lose control under braking unless they install a 'two pedal' upgrade for their car. That upgrade comes with increased weight. I don't know if this mod uses that, but it seems like a good compromise.

#10 Nemo1965

Nemo1965
  • Member

  • 1,600 posts
  • Joined: October 12

Posted 16 May 2014 - 21:49

I am downloading it now. If it runs smoothly (usually rFactor mods don't, with my machine) we can make some laps together!



#11 Siddley

Siddley
  • Member

  • 159 posts
  • Joined: February 14

Posted 16 May 2014 - 22:18

There aren't any upgrades at all.

I shouldn't make too big a deal about online racers using semiauto boxes in historic cars, I really don't care what people do as long as they are having fun. I'd just like to race on a level playing field using my h-shifter and heel and toe. The amount of time you lose on downshifts is pretty significant when you look at telemetry, it outweighs any advantage of being able to go straight from 5th to 2nd rather than 5-4-3-2

Nemo - it's rFactor 1 - remember how you said the F1 1979 mod is one where you can drive much faster ? the 65 mod is like that for me. I'm lapping at real world times ( top ten grid position at worst ) and running the AI at 105% which is unheard of for me.
 



#12 Siddley

Siddley
  • Member

  • 159 posts
  • Joined: February 14

Posted 16 May 2014 - 22:31

I am downloading it now. If it runs smoothly (usually rFactor mods don't, with my machine) we can make some laps together!

It should do, it's not graphics intensive at all.

I can host races in theory but need to figure out port forwarding on my router first. I'll need to get help to do that, the router runs non standard software and it's a bit beyond my skills.

Once I can host races I'll enlist a mate of mine back in the UK to join us - he's a huge fan of the historic cars and circuits as well. 



#13 Nemo1965

Nemo1965
  • Member

  • 1,600 posts
  • Joined: October 12

Posted 16 May 2014 - 22:38

Well, it is certainly a blast!

 

I drove about 10 laps around Kyalamy. I spun about three times, could correct most of the times... but I killed myself once. I think I flew about 50 meters through the air.

 

I just tried to use my rFactor dedicated... and it seemed to work. I look into it as well.

 

EDIT: Ofcourse I meant the Prince George track... 


Edited by Nemo1965, 16 May 2014 - 22:46.


#14 Nemo1965

Nemo1965
  • Member

  • 1,600 posts
  • Joined: October 12

Posted 17 May 2014 - 11:05

Tried the game some more... dared to introduce AI to compare times... and what do you know? At 95 percent I was not as quick as Hill and Clark, but about the same time as my virtual teammate. At an easy track, okay, but still.

 

So if anyone is interested in lapping together. I could join the server but hosting a race myself... I can't find a proper manual for Windows Vista.



#15 Siddley

Siddley
  • Member

  • 159 posts
  • Joined: February 14

Posted 17 May 2014 - 12:35

Hosting a race doesn't require much messing around with the operating system, you just have to get your router to forward a couple of ports and make sure they aren't blocked by the Windows firewall or whatever.
There are guides on the net which will walk you through the setup for your model of router - port forwarding is needed for all online games where a player can host a session so it's very well documented.

Once port forwarding is set up all you have to do is click on 'create' in rFactor. You can set a password but I never found it necessary.

My problem is that my router is running some kind of custom software and I think I'll need to get an engineer to talk me through it. I don't speak much technical Spanish and they don't speak a word of English so it'll be a lot of fun...

 



#16 Nemo1965

Nemo1965
  • Member

  • 1,600 posts
  • Joined: October 12

Posted 17 May 2014 - 13:11

Okay, I'll try. One easy way is just try to host a race ingame... I'll pm you with the name,if it works.

 

If you can point me at a good guide for Vista, please do so. There are tons about Windows XP (those guides I don't understand either, to be honest), but Vista, no googlio.



#17 Siddley

Siddley
  • Member

  • 159 posts
  • Joined: February 14

Posted 18 May 2014 - 14:59

The port forwarding setup is independant of your operating system - the router has it's own software which you access through your web browser.
The only thing you'll need to know about Vista is how to make an exception in the firewall for the two ports which rFactor uses to communicate. You could just turn the firewall off for the duration and ignore Windows squawking in panic " OMG !!! your computer is going to explode !!!! "

rFactor will let you host a game without checking for network errors - so you'll have what seems to be a perfectly functioning multiplayer session, but it won't be visible to anyone else.



#18 Nemo1965

Nemo1965
  • Member

  • 1,600 posts
  • Joined: October 12

Posted 18 May 2014 - 18:29

The port forwarding setup is independant of your operating system - the router has it's own software which you access through your web browser.
The only thing you'll need to know about Vista is how to make an exception in the firewall for the two ports which rFactor uses to communicate. You could just turn the firewall off for the duration and ignore Windows squawking in panic " OMG !!! your computer is going to explode !!!! "

rFactor will let you host a game without checking for network errors - so you'll have what seems to be a perfectly functioning multiplayer session, but it won't be visible to anyone else.

 

That is an idea!
 



#19 chunder27

chunder27
  • Member

  • 804 posts
  • Joined: October 11

Posted 19 May 2014 - 09:45

You cna just host a race anyway with RF1

 

Just prees host, its fairly easy if you have decent internet.



Advertisement

#20 Siddley

Siddley
  • Member

  • 159 posts
  • Joined: February 14

Posted 19 May 2014 - 12:18

You do need the port forwarding set up in your router though. 



#21 chunder27

chunder27
  • Member

  • 804 posts
  • Joined: October 11

Posted 22 May 2014 - 10:05

Be great to meet up with you guys if you ever get the network thing sorted.

 

Mod is superb, am really anjoying blatting round 1990 Monaco, the Brabham 32v is a true bitch to drive!  really peaky!



#22 Siddley

Siddley
  • Member

  • 159 posts
  • Joined: February 14

Posted 22 May 2014 - 12:10

I'll definitely host some test sessions and races when I get my weird router figured out...

Have you tried the 1512 ? that's my favourite. It doesn't handle quite as nicely as the other cars but is a little faster with a slightly more powerful engine.
Plus it's red - the laws of physics clearly state that red cars are quicker than any other colour :lol:



#23 chunder27

chunder27
  • Member

  • 804 posts
  • Joined: October 11

Posted 22 May 2014 - 14:47

I like most of them

 

Some of the older heavier cars with the biger engine are cool too.

 

Going to try and get a track pack I think.



#24 Nemo1965

Nemo1965
  • Member

  • 1,600 posts
  • Joined: October 12

Posted 22 May 2014 - 16:28

I like most of them

 

Some of the older heavier cars with the biger engine are cool too.

 

Going to try and get a track pack I think.

 

There is one at Forum Racing Italia net or something... it is a bit to get hold off, but please do, because they are so much fun. Monaco with the old chicane... soooo challenging!

 

Here is half a lap, one of my first, so be gentle. The sound is gone (don't know why...) but it is an impression

 

https://www.youtube....h?v=BHMQiQ2lVqE



#25 chunder27

chunder27
  • Member

  • 804 posts
  • Joined: October 11

Posted 22 May 2014 - 19:23

I did try, RF files were really done over by mediafire and those host sites getting closed down, totally buggered up RF users.

 

I have tried downloading there but it wouldnt let me, any other hosts?



#26 Siddley

Siddley
  • Member

  • 159 posts
  • Joined: February 14

Posted 22 May 2014 - 20:51

http://trippteamdown...FDsign_2014.rar

 

I checked the link and it's working