- - - - -

190E with mid corner push on Tarmac rally setup

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 MatsNorway

MatsNorway

• 2,087 posts

Posted 11 July 2014 - 08:38

A friend of mine is asking about how he can give his car more steering up front when he is mid corner. Now it goes into understeer. He has Proflex 3way dampers up front and some two way at the rear. Polyester bushings all around. 2.5L 16V motor

My suggestion was Toe out but i am no expert.

Edit: His diff is at 4,45:1 and might be as high as 75% lock. Unknown brand. Surely that is the main problem? But i doubt he got much else. Any suggestions to make the mid corner push less severe?

1901198_10153903815690183_183411273_n.jp

Edited by MatsNorway, 11 July 2014 - 08:59.

Advertisement

#2 gruntguru

gruntguru

• 5,479 posts

Posted 11 July 2014 - 23:32

Damping rates will have more effect on corner entry. Same for diff preload.

Mid-corner handling is usually mostly about roll stiffness. To reduce push either:

Stiffen the rear with more ARB, more spring or higher roll centre or -

Soften the front with less ARB, less spring or lower roll centre.

There are also an infinite number of minor fiddles including toe, caster (increase), camber (decrease), tyre pressures (small increments either way might improve front grip)

Edited by gruntguru, 11 July 2014 - 23:32.

#3 Lee Nicolle

Lee Nicolle

• 6,250 posts

Posted 12 July 2014 - 00:26

By that pic some stiffer front springs will help. It goes against basics but when the car is 'falling over' it will push like a pig!. Then bars and tyre pressures. Plus driving style too. Sometimes you have to be more agressive and [very gently] flick it in and set it up in an oversteer stance. And just lock the diff. It is positive unlike a LSD which never does the same thing twice! Though if it is a pure road car you will have to live with it. Burnt clutches and oil are all part of that!

#4 gruntguru

gruntguru

• 5,479 posts

Posted 12 July 2014 - 06:41