Jump to content


Photo

Banner advert obscuring messages and notifications.


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 elansprint72

elansprint72
  • Member

  • 3,365 posts
  • Joined: September 08

Posted 18 July 2014 - 07:28

There is a problem when trying to look at received messages and notification- the banner advert (currently for Porsche) covers the drop-down list of messages. I have two new incoming messages but I cannot see who they are from, therby making the message function a waste of time.

 

I did report this last week but nothing seems to have been done.



Advertisement

#2 Vitesse2

Vitesse2
  • Nostalgia Forum Moderator

  • 24,269 posts
  • Joined: April 01

Posted 18 July 2014 - 08:23

Just a guess, but this may be partly due to your screen ratio, Pete. If the box the advert is in - unlike the BB itself - isn't formatted to auto-resize then it could do something like that. That would also mean it's likely a problem caused by the outside 'content provider' rather than being something Autosport can do something about directly and may only be a problem in certain markets - or even be triggered by an individual's browsing history.

 

A possible workaround: if you can see and click on your username top right then you can access your messenger from a dropdown there.



#3 Tim Murray

Tim Murray
  • Member

  • 14,414 posts
  • Joined: May 02

Posted 20 July 2014 - 19:29

I had difficulty logging in recently because the Porsche banner ad was partially covering the login box, which made it very hard to enter my user name and password.

#4 Marc Sproule

Marc Sproule
  • Member

  • 625 posts
  • Joined: April 10

Posted 20 July 2014 - 22:02

banner covers the "new content" area for me when home page loads. figured out that if i hit the "stop" button on the home page before the banner loads then i can access the link i want.



#5 condor

condor
  • Member

  • 11,268 posts
  • Joined: April 01

Posted 22 July 2014 - 13:28

Apart from the issues raised by other members - there's also a problem with the quick navigation top RHS as the banner obscures part of the menu. Not a big deal in itself, one can always go to the main forum page to visit another forum - however, with the banner also hiding notifications etc. it's the banner that's the problem not our screen size.



#6 Grayson

Grayson
  • AUTOSPORT digital product manager

  • 1,359 posts
  • Joined: July 08

Posted 23 July 2014 - 17:41

Could anyone who has experienced this bug take a screenshot and send it to me at simon.grayson@haymarket.com please? If you could also let me know whether it's only happening with a few ads or whether it's happening with every ad in that slot, as well as what sort of system you're viewing the forums with (mobile, desktop, etc), that would be good.

 

I'll have a chat with our dev team and our Ad Ops team to see whether the problem is with the way the page is coded or whether it's with the ads themselves...



#7 E.B.

E.B.
  • Member

  • 1,754 posts
  • Joined: March 05

Posted 23 July 2014 - 18:32

I only have trouble with the Porsche one - all others seem fine.

#8 Grayson

Grayson
  • AUTOSPORT digital product manager

  • 1,359 posts
  • Joined: July 08

Posted 25 July 2014 - 10:30

A quick update - our Ad Ops team are looking into the Porsche ad to see what the problem is and how to ensure that no future ads cause the same problem.

 

If you see this with any other ad campaign at all, please let me know here or by E-mail. Like I mentioned earlier, a screenshot would always be useful as it means that we can identify the problem more quickly even if we can't replicate it on our machines!



#9 275 GTB-4

275 GTB-4
  • Member

  • 6,944 posts
  • Joined: February 03

Posted 26 July 2014 - 08:38

A quick update - our Ad Ops team are looking into the Porsche ad to see what the problem is and how to ensure that no future ads cause the same problem.
 
If you see this with any other ad campaign at all, please let me know here or by E-mail. Like I mentioned earlier, a screenshot would always be useful as it means that we can identify the problem more quickly even if we can't replicate it on our machines!


Grayson, thank you...if may be so bold as to suggest...please send me any notification or PM and I will fwd a screen dump forthwith. Cheers, Mick

#10 275 GTB-4

275 GTB-4
  • Member

  • 6,944 posts
  • Joined: February 03

Posted 27 July 2014 - 22:12

PM Rx'd, Email sent :)