Photo

Most Important Pre-"Great War" Races

• Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#1 GPevolved

GPevolved

• 50 posts

Posted 19 March 2015 - 23:36

For my project, hosted at GPevolved.com, I am currently in a research phase to reboot the blog from scratch, for a variety of reasons (some of which I just detailed in the introduction thread).

Anyway, my question is simple:

What are the most historically important races prior to the first world war?

I am only beginning my primary source research.  Certainly, I would include the 1903 Gordon Bennett Cup Race and the 1906 French Grand Prix on this list.  But, before I ramble off a bunch of other relatively obscure and forgotten races of early motorsport, I wanted to open the question up for discussion.

In other words, what very early motorsport races helped define the sport that we know today?

I look forward to any thoughts, books, articles, or other resources which you may find to be helpful to me.

Thanks again!

Advertisement

#2 Vitesse2

Vitesse2
  • Administrator

• 41,857 posts

Posted 20 March 2015 - 00:21

Well, it really depends on whether you wish to restrict yourself to circuit races - as implied in your post - or include the city-to-city events too.

As far as circuit races are concerned, I'd suggest:

Gordon Bennett Trophy 1903-05

Grand Prix de l'ACF 1906-14

Circuit des Ardennes 1902-08

Coppa Florio 1905-14

Targa Florio 1907-11

Coppa della Velocita 1907

Kaiserpreis 1908

GP de France 1911, 1913

Coupe de La Sarthe 1912

American Grand Prize 1908-16

Vanderbilt Cup 1904-16

Indianapolis 500 1911-16

Elgin Races 1910-15

The dates for some of the above are 'first and last'. Not all were held every year.

#3 GPevolved

GPevolved

• 50 posts

Posted 20 March 2015 - 00:36

Thanks for the list.  Those races alone, will keep me busy for weeks.