Photo
* - - - - 1 votes

Would F1 be better off running 3-3.5L V6 normally aspirated engines?

• Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 nickyvida

nickyvida

• 350 posts

Posted 19 September 2015 - 08:52

Pardon me. Newbie here so i don't really know much about F1.

The development of turbocharged engines have been troubled for teams like Mclaren Honda and Renault if im not wrong for this season and Mercedes enjoying dominance so far for most of the races since they have an almost perfect PU while other teams have struggled to match them.

I understand that the change had to come someday  but wouldn't it have been better to gradually switch over to turbocharged engines over the course of years rather than abruptly switching to T/C PU's at the start of last season, while reducing the emissions and fuel usage that critics of F1 have judged the sport with on the 2.4l V8s?

Perhaps a 3L-3.5L V6 would have done fine for a couple of seasons while teams would have been working on the development for  the eventual introduction of the T/C 1.6L V6 we see today, negating the development hiccups that we see today from the Mchonda and RBR entrants.

If im not wrong, 3L V6s did exist in formula one, but that was very long ago.

Advertisement

#2 Tourgott

Tourgott

• 1,149 posts

Posted 19 September 2015 - 08:59

F1 would be better off reverting to the status of 2013 and then slowly sorting out things fans don't like, e.g. DRS.

#3 4Wheeldrift

4Wheeldrift

• 228 posts

Posted 19 September 2015 - 09:02

The hybrid rules changes were announced years ago (2011 i think) and delayed as they were supposed to be implemented in 2013.  The fact that Honda, and Renault have done such a poor job isn't because they were rushed.  It's because they did a poor job compared to Mercedes and, this season Ferrari.

And Ferrari shows that you can improve even within the token system.  So Renault have just done two poor jobs.