- - - - -

Drivers and cycling

• Please log in to reply
98 replies to this topic

#1 Dan333SP

Dan333SP

• 4,701 posts

Posted 01 October 2015 - 15:59

So I'm an avid cyclist and amateur racer myself, and I love seeing photos or news about current/former professional drivers/motorcycle riders that use cycling as training for their motorsport endeavors.

We all know about Jenson Button being a competitive triathlete, and Fernando Alonso came close to buying out the Basque Euskatel pro tour cycling team a few years ago when they ran into financial trouble, but the deal fell through. He's very close friends with a few Spanish professional cyclists, and he trains regularly on his bike, which I'd probably assume is now a Specialized Mclaren Venge rather than the Colnago Ferrari bike he was on before.

There are a lot of similarities in the physical attributes that make for a competitive cyclist and a professional driver at the F1 level (size, weight, endurance, quick reactions, risk taking, situational awareness, ect.), so it's a natural fit. Moto racers have even more crossover given the 2 wheeled nature of the sports.

My hypothetical question is- If you were to line up all professional motorsports drivers/riders past and present who ride all the time, who would win in a cycling race? Personally, I'd love to see this because it'd make for entertaining television, it isn't nearly as risky as an actual race, and it could give bragging rights to an unexpected individual.

f1-australian-gp-2014-fernando-alonso-fe

Jenson.jpg

jarno-bike.jpg

05-19-Montoya-Saavedra-Kanaan-Cycling-St

Footnote: I live in Richond, VA so I'm still on a high from the last week of the UCI world championships here, got cycling on my mind 24/7.

Edited by Dan333SP, 01 October 2015 - 16:07.

Advertisement

#2 Marklar

Marklar

• 44,283 posts

Posted 01 October 2015 - 16:02

I know that Vettel recently beat Jan Ullrich when they were doing a ride in Switzerland clearly, just wanted to mention it ;)