Dear F1, get your ducks in a row

• Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 LeClerc

LeClerc

• 25,040 posts

Posted 31 October 2015 - 21:56

Dear F1,

If I wanted to see an IT competition, I would go to my workplace.

If I wanted to see an eco-engine, I would go to my neighbor (the fool) and watch his Prius.

If I wanted to see a remote controlled car (driver), I would to to the local RC track.

Please, for the love of DFV, let the drivers control the car. Kill telemetry! Give the driver more HP and torque than he can handle and let us see who is the better driver.

I'm an engineer by profession and I don't want to watch engineers in my free time. Please F1, fix it!!!

Advertisement

#2 Seanspeed

Seanspeed

• 21,814 posts

Posted 31 October 2015 - 21:58

They got rid of traction control and the cars have more power and especially torque than they have in quite a while.

#3 LeClerc

LeClerc

• 25,040 posts

Posted 31 October 2015 - 22:01

They got rid of traction control and the cars have more power and especially torque than they have in quite a while.

I did not explain it in a coherent way, sorry. I want the driver to control the torque, not some setting on his steering wheel.

#4 Wuzak

Wuzak

• 8,508 posts

Posted 31 October 2015 - 22:09

They also have banned 4WS, ABS, electric power steering, telemtry is only car to pit, not pit to car and they are about to cut pit to driver communications substantially, such that they will know where a driver is going wrong in the pits but cannot tell him while he is on track.

These "eco" engines have no much in common with the Prius. 

In the Prius the electric motor is for improving fuel economy by turning the engine off in certain situations. 

In F1 the electric motors are about extra performance.

The V6Ts quite possibly have as much as 100hp more than the V8s for most of the lap, and probably 50hp more when the V8s had KERS available.