Photo

Rear-engined sprint cars?

• Please log in to reply
126 replies to this topic

#1 Lemans

Lemans

• 2,739 posts

Posted 21 March 2003 - 01:25

Buford and other TNFs, I have never heard of rear engined sprinters. Do you know anything about this? And was USAC that bad regarding its drivers? The question is from Robin Miller's colomn.

Robin, do you think if USAC were to build rear engined sprint cars like the few that were made back in the 70s it would help these young guys and gals become better in the Indy ranks? I for one do.I've been working on sprinters since I was five years old (Shorty Watson's 79 car) and I remember the car Paul Leffler manufactured. I think it was a copy an eagle Indy car only smaller with a roll cage. My grandfather said, "You see that car there, it's what sprint cars are coming to." I think about two weeks later USAC banned it and all cars like it. I for one would love to see someone start a new series of this nature. How about you? If not, then what's it going to take?

Randy Schuller
Indianapolis

Robin Miller: USAC did several things to cut its own drivers' path to Indy. Taking the dirt cars out of the Champ Car sked was the first and worst move because suddenly you didn't have to be versatile. Outlawing rear-engined sprinters after Tom Sneva won a few features was the second bad move because that kind of experience could have been valuable -- even today. All that horsepower behind the driver at Winchester ... USAC has always been a disaster as a sanctioning body and those two things certainly crippled the path to Indy. Could USAC change it's thinking today? Who knows. I think Rollie Helmling is pretty sharp but his hands could be tied over a major change. I just can't believe none of the IRL owners will hire JJ Yeley so he'll probably end up in NASCAR like Gordon, Stewart, Leffler, Newman, etc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Advertisement

#2 Allen Brown

Allen Brown