Photo

V-8 Engine Oakland-Pontiac 1930-31-32

• Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#1 marion5drsn

marion5drsn

• 980 posts

Posted 12 December 2003 - 19:50

As some of you may know I have been doing some research on the above engine for several months. To give a short summation of the basic engine it had:
3.4375” by 3.375” bore and stroke 250.6 cubic inches displacement.
85 horsepower.5 to 1 compression ratio. A horizontal valve system and a very peculiar “L” head combustion chamber due to the horizontal valve system.

I haven’t been able to at this time to find the lobe lift or the rocker arm mechanical ratio. I have found out the timing which is 0+180+40 = 220 degrees on the intake and 45+180+15=240 degrees for the exhaust. But nowhere can I find the lift nor does anyone seem to know anything about this detail of the camshaft.

The Bolt that adjusts the valve clearance has a very small contact area due to the fact that it seems to be a part of the lash adjustment along with the bolt head being the thrusting/sliding part of the valve actuation. This dual duty means that it has a very small contact area due to the spherical radius of the bolt head contacting the valve stem. This radius I believe would have to be the same as the distance as the center of the rocker shaft to the contact area of the bolt head. This would be a large radius but still would produce a very small contact area.

One thing that this engine had in 1930 was a roller cam lobe follower something that The Lycoming /Cord engine needed but failed to have
in 1936-37. Many Cord owners according to the posts at the Cord 810/812 area added this roller.
M.L. Anderson

Advertisement

#2 Henk

Henk

• 227 posts

Posted 16 December 2003 - 23:56