Photo

Group 5 sportscars.

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 ianbeckett21

ianbeckett21

• 49 posts

Posted 17 December 2004 - 14:21

Another thread I would like to explore would be the Deutsche Rennsport Meisterscaft[DRM]. Are there any likeminded fans who think that some of the cars in those races were extemely spectacular? As a poor student I was only ever able to visit one race when they appeared at Donington in 1980 but nearly a quarter of a century later I still remember them. Were any of you lucky enough to see races on mainland Europe and if so do you have memories and photos to share?

Advertisement

#2 Frank de Jong

Frank de Jong

• 1,830 posts

Posted 17 December 2004 - 15:19

Yes, I've seen many of them. I've been to Zolder a few times, saw both Zandvoort races and went to Hockenheim. I saw the debut races for the Schnitzer Toyota and the Zakspeed Capri. The only win for the baby Porsche 935/2.0
Spectacular cars, but the races sometimes were not that spectacular. Zandvoort 1978 in heavy rain was very disappointing. But 1979 was a lot better, with Höttinger in the Jägermeister GS BMW turbo, under the bonnet the prototype of the future BMW formula 1 engine.
The trouble with the DRM was that in some years there was a dominance of one very fast car with a very fast driver, leaving little for the others. Like Ludwig in 1979 and 1981.
But many happy memories for me.

I will cover the DRM on my site in the future (from the group 2/4 era, 1972 and 1973 are covered so far), including a few pictures I made.

#3 Rob Semmeling

Rob Semmeling

• 913 posts

Posted 17 December 2004 - 15:23

Frank, what's delaying your top 10 drivers list?

#4 Rob Semmeling

Rob Semmeling

• 913 posts

Posted 17 December 2004 - 19:48

Thought you might enjoy this:

http://www.zandbak.net/

#5 Frank de Jong

Frank de Jong

• 1,830 posts

Posted 18 December 2004 - 10:51

:lol: I thought no one would care about the top-ten...