Jump to content


Photo

Free online F1 management sim.


  • Please log in to reply
492 replies to this topic

#51 Moanaman

Moanaman
  • Member

  • 5,605 posts
  • Joined: July 01

Posted 17 March 2006 - 21:09

Originally posted by batracer
wow! some of you guys are getting fanatical!;)


If you think we fanatical at this, you should see us play Football! ;)

Advertisement

#52 Jodum5

Jodum5
  • Member

  • 1,247 posts
  • Joined: July 04

Posted 17 March 2006 - 22:16

Here we go again , Im in ;)

#53 Kiwi

Kiwi
  • Member

  • 415 posts
  • Joined: January 99

Posted 18 March 2006 - 01:12

I'm in! :wave:

Hit the submit button b4 finishing painting the car. Looks like a big turd.

Looks like I'm stuck with it now.

#54 The Kanisteri

The Kanisteri
  • Member

  • 10,442 posts
  • Joined: August 99

Posted 19 March 2006 - 11:13

More players needed to BorderReiver's BTTC game!

#55 BorderReiver

BorderReiver
  • Member

  • 9,935 posts
  • Joined: April 03

Posted 19 March 2006 - 21:27

Originally posted by The Kanisteri
More players needed to BorderReiver's BTTC game!

#

Damn right there are! C'mon people!

#56 gtc29

gtc29
  • New Member

  • 2 posts
  • Joined: March 06

Posted 20 March 2006 - 03:46

Hello to all

This is my first post in the forum. Just joined your game with GTC Grand Prix Astra. Good Luck
:)

#57 BorderReiver

BorderReiver
  • Member

  • 9,935 posts
  • Joined: April 03

Posted 20 March 2006 - 10:08

Originally posted by gtc29
Hello to all

This is my first post in the forum. Just joined your game with GTC Grand Prix Astra. Good Luck
:)


:clap:

Good for you!

Right, we just need 3 more people . . . Anyone?

#58 SkorbiF1

SkorbiF1
  • Member

  • 1,208 posts
  • Joined: December 04

Posted 20 March 2006 - 13:13

I joined, but made a mistake and joined the production cars, and this game still doesn't have enough players I guess. :(
So BorderReiver, is it possible to kick me out? I'd join again..

#59 Jodum5

Jodum5
  • Member

  • 1,247 posts
  • Joined: July 04

Posted 20 March 2006 - 20:05

Border, why couldnt you start the season and people could join mid season if they wanted?

Advertisement

#60 The Kanisteri

The Kanisteri
  • Member

  • 10,442 posts
  • Joined: August 99

Posted 20 March 2006 - 21:35

batracer,

Kool tools? :

Although BATracer is free to play, we depend on income for the games continued development. Kool Tools are a way of rewarding our sponsors/donating players. Kool Tools consists of the following:
*A wet/dry setup modifier tool.
*Store and name additional custom setups.
*View your team mates lo/hi values next to your own.
*Hide your setups from team mates.
*An icon in game indicating your "KOOL" status to other players.


Although I like idea of rewarding people who donates money, but that also gives them advantage to spoil and actually cheat in game. If it goes that way, I say good bye to batracer game.

#61 Marcel Schot

Marcel Schot
  • Member

  • 5,459 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 21 March 2006 - 05:58

The currently available kool tools don't give you any advantage, only make life easier. If you cooperate well with your teammate you already knew their ranges. Wet setup converter just saves the hassle of having to do the calculations in Excel. Don't really see the point of the setup hiding from your teammate, but maybe that's because I work together with mine very well.

It's the additional analysis stuff that's coming up which could give me an edge. That's the same in the football game we play, though.

Must admit I'm glad I donated before this came into effect.

#62 Breadmaster

Breadmaster
  • Member

  • 2,501 posts
  • Joined: May 01

Posted 21 March 2006 - 09:29

You use Excel!!???!

Crikey you take this seriously....

#63 SkorbiF1

SkorbiF1
  • Member

  • 1,208 posts
  • Joined: December 04

Posted 21 March 2006 - 10:41

Originally posted by Breadmaster
You use Excel!!???!

Crikey you take this seriously....

I also use excel in BATracer.. Well, I use excel to make shopping lists too, so it doesn't really mean that much.

#64 Breadmaster

Breadmaster
  • Member

  • 2,501 posts
  • Joined: May 01

Posted 21 March 2006 - 10:47

I thought there was some serious analysis going on....lol

#65 Marcel Schot

Marcel Schot
  • Member

  • 5,459 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 21 March 2006 - 10:51

Originally posted by Breadmaster
I thought there was some serious analysis going on....lol

Not really. Working on it, though :p Problem is that Jules is working too hard for things to pay off. Before I've devised a way to extract data and make good use of it, Jules will have changed the process again :p

#66 The Kanisteri

The Kanisteri
  • Member

  • 10,442 posts
  • Joined: August 99

Posted 21 March 2006 - 11:37

Uh...so far I've needed only notepad for backup-copy and I've done number crunching in my head.
Can't whine about setups since they've been very competitive against enemies...uh...I mean rivals.

#67 BorderReiver

BorderReiver
  • Member

  • 9,935 posts
  • Joined: April 03

Posted 22 March 2006 - 12:09

GO GO ATLAS TOURERS.

The Atlas Tourers season is Go Go Go Go!


#68 Kiwi

Kiwi
  • Member

  • 415 posts
  • Joined: January 99

Posted 22 March 2006 - 20:30

Woot!!!!!!!!!!

#69 Breadmaster

Breadmaster
  • Member

  • 2,501 posts
  • Joined: May 01

Posted 24 March 2006 - 10:05

Altlas Tourers race - Two 3rd places for me - w00t!

#70 Ross Stonefeld

Ross Stonefeld
  • Member

  • 55,919 posts
  • Joined: August 99

Posted 24 March 2006 - 19:31

I salute my MG cousin

#71 babbel

babbel
  • Racing Sims Host

  • 2,226 posts
  • Joined: March 99

Posted 25 March 2006 - 09:11

I'm getting sick of this game. Every session my teammate and I pretty much dominate or are atleast in the top 5 of every session we do ourselves. Then in qualifying or the race there is *always* something.

If this happens once it's fine but jeez does it have to happen in *every* session?

#72 TF106

TF106
  • Member

  • 114 posts
  • Joined: October 05

Posted 26 March 2006 - 20:15

LOL im starting from last and finished 12nd with super Aguri :) LOL

#73 Jodum5

Jodum5
  • Member

  • 1,247 posts
  • Joined: July 04

Posted 27 March 2006 - 00:09

Anybody care to tell me how to use two different compounds during a race???

MY past two races F1 2006 #58 and #44, I meant to start with Soft tires then switch to Hards. IN one It used the softs at the start (this was right) then it cycled through my already used soft tires instead of moving to hards, which cost me at least a podium. In the other race, it cycled through my soft tires then instead of switching to hards at the end it used an already used soft tire!

Help!

#74 BorderReiver

BorderReiver
  • Member

  • 9,935 posts
  • Joined: April 03

Posted 27 March 2006 - 01:30

Originally posted by babbel
I'm getting sick of this game. Every session my teammate and I pretty much dominate or are atleast in the top 5 of every session we do ourselves. Then in qualifying or the race there is *always* something.

If this happens once it's fine but jeez does it have to happen in *every* session?


I would've won every race in my career except for something;).

#75 babbel

babbel
  • Racing Sims Host

  • 2,226 posts
  • Joined: March 99

Posted 27 March 2006 - 10:45

Originally posted by BorderReiver


I would've won every race in my career except for something;).


yet again there was a problem with my car in qual

#76 Marcel Schot

Marcel Schot
  • Member

  • 5,459 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 27 March 2006 - 10:53

Almost looks as if you're much more likely to run into a problem somewhere along the line if you're setting up much better than the rest of your league. Same problem for me and Schuting in both F1 2002 and F1 2006. I suppose it's domination prevention in order to keep those people on board who don't work together well and can't figure it out on their own.

#77 Breadmaster

Breadmaster
  • Member

  • 2,501 posts
  • Joined: May 01

Posted 27 March 2006 - 10:55

Originally posted by Jodum5
Anybody care to tell me how to use two different compounds during a race???

MY past two races F1 2006 #58 and #44, I meant to start with Soft tires then switch to Hards. IN one It used the softs at the start (this was right) then it cycled through my already used soft tires instead of moving to hards, which cost me at least a podium. In the other race, it cycled through my soft tires then instead of switching to hards at the end it used an already used soft tire!

Help!


surely the FIA would have words with you about using different compounds?


If this was 1990 fair enough but in 2006??

ps: Go MG Go!

#78 Marcel Schot

Marcel Schot
  • Member

  • 5,459 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 27 March 2006 - 10:55

Originally posted by Jodum5
Anybody care to tell me how to use two different compounds during a race???

MY past two races F1 2006 #58 and #44, I meant to start with Soft tires then switch to Hards. IN one It used the softs at the start (this was right) then it cycled through my already used soft tires instead of moving to hards, which cost me at least a podium. In the other race, it cycled through my soft tires then instead of switching to hards at the end it used an already used soft tire!

Help!

It should be possible by unticking your softs in the race strategy, but I think you need to play with the "change when on wrong tyres" thing to make it work properly. I've seen someone pit for a different type of tyres after 1 lap!

#79 Jodum5

Jodum5
  • Member

  • 1,247 posts
  • Joined: July 04

Posted 27 March 2006 - 20:34

eh, wayy to complex. I guess I will stick with using one compound from now on. The developers should allow us to decide what we want for each stop.

Advertisement

#80 pixelpunk

pixelpunk
  • Member

  • 96 posts
  • Joined: April 05

Posted 28 March 2006 - 07:40

It's easy.

Have soft as your start tyre.
Untick soft tyre, put slider on zero (0).
Tick Hard tyre, put slider on zero (0).

Next scheduled (or other) stop pitcrew will fit your hard tyres.

#81 Eli

Eli
  • autosport.com news editor

  • 2,690 posts
  • Joined: August 99

Posted 28 March 2006 - 11:24

I have to say the random factor is a bit annoying.

I complete five runs with a good set-up in a Renault and finished 2.8 seconds off the pace. My teammate improves my set-up and he's over 1.2 seconds off.

Then I complete five runs in the Aguri and finish on top.

Seems weird.

#82 Schuting Star

Schuting Star
  • Member

  • 5,139 posts
  • Joined: February 02

Posted 28 March 2006 - 12:46

The over enthusiasm bit is annoying the hell out of me. I really don't think a risk of 50 should cause you to lose all your runs when other times you can run much higher. It's totally random and very irritating.

#83 Marcel Schot

Marcel Schot
  • Member

  • 5,459 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 28 March 2006 - 12:48

What she said. I'm blind with rage :p Even managed to mention the wrong session over at the Batforum ;)

#84 BorderReiver

BorderReiver
  • Member

  • 9,935 posts
  • Joined: April 03

Posted 28 March 2006 - 13:09

Originally posted by Schuting Star
The over enthusiasm bit is annoying the hell out of me.


Same here. I'm also not sure what "over-enthusiasm" means when your trying to feel out a set-up . . .

Other than that, I think this is a fantastic little game.

#85 Jodum5

Jodum5
  • Member

  • 1,247 posts
  • Joined: July 04

Posted 28 March 2006 - 14:03

I think its funy that I run my first test session at 48 make a mistake for being "over enthusiastic" but my next 4-7 sessions at 66 - 96 normally run error free :rotfl: actually I dont mind that too much at all!

#86 Arska

Arska
  • Member

  • 713 posts
  • Joined: April 02

Posted 28 March 2006 - 19:18

I got bored of batracer in a few days. There have been others that lasted even less. It starts to get quite repetitive in no time at all.

#87 BorderReiver

BorderReiver
  • Member

  • 9,935 posts
  • Joined: April 03

Posted 28 March 2006 - 21:33

Originally posted by Arska
I got bored of batracer in a few days. There have been others that lasted even less. It starts to get quite repetitive in no time at all.


Like anything in life you only get out as much as you put in . . .

#88 Rob Silver Speed

Rob Silver Speed
  • Member

  • 1,296 posts
  • Joined: July 04

Posted 28 March 2006 - 22:54

Just set myself up in two series, F1 2006 #550 currently lead driver for Ferrari with my car #1 in practice :). BTCC Generic Championship #540 set myself up in the production class with a honda civic and "only" #4th in practice.

Any clues on how long after you start the game advances to qualifying for the first race?

#89 BorderReiver

BorderReiver
  • Member

  • 9,935 posts
  • Joined: April 03

Posted 28 March 2006 - 23:02

Originally posted by Rob Silver Speed
Just set myself up in two series, F1 2006 #550 currently lead driver for Ferrari with my car #1 in practice :). BTCC Generic Championship #540 set myself up in the production class with a honda civic and "only" #4th in practice.

Any clues on how long after you start the game advances to qualifying for the first race?


Once the game is full it normally kicks in after 12 hours Rob. After that each Qualifying and Race session is 24 hours apart.

#90 Rob Silver Speed

Rob Silver Speed
  • Member

  • 1,296 posts
  • Joined: July 04

Posted 28 March 2006 - 23:12

Cheers

#91 Breadmaster

Breadmaster
  • Member

  • 2,501 posts
  • Joined: May 01

Posted 29 March 2006 - 09:18

Pah!

I managed to get my crappy Toyota up from 11th on the grid to 5th and a MacLaren w@nker took me out!

next time i'm going to get in early on and make sure i'm not in the Toyota.... :mad:

#92 Marcel Schot

Marcel Schot
  • Member

  • 5,459 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 29 March 2006 - 09:24

Originally posted by Arska
I got bored of batracer in a few days. There have been others that lasted even less. It starts to get quite repetitive in no time at all.

Hey Arska, you got bored of GP2 quicker than me :p Long time no see!

#93 The Kanisteri

The Kanisteri
  • Member

  • 10,442 posts
  • Joined: August 99

Posted 29 March 2006 - 10:33

Heh, our #44 game by atlasf1 is challenging, but when I few days ago joined into public game with newbie to batracer friend of mine, we suddenly lead serie after 2 gps by 33 points. :D
And next race doesn't look much worse, I had pole and team mate got bit weaker position because accident in qualification.

Forza Red Bull!

#94 Arska

Arska
  • Member

  • 713 posts
  • Joined: April 02

Posted 29 March 2006 - 15:37

Originally posted by Marcel Schot

Hey Arska, you got bored of GP2 quicker than me :p Long time no see!


Heya... I finally got over GPL after getting GTR, and having a blast with it, even with the bugs and all.

#95 babbel

babbel
  • Racing Sims Host

  • 2,226 posts
  • Joined: March 99

Posted 30 March 2006 - 08:36

Hey look I had yet another problem during the race

#96 Ross Stonefeld

Ross Stonefeld
  • Member

  • 55,919 posts
  • Joined: August 99

Posted 30 March 2006 - 08:47

Im crying.

#97 rad787

rad787
  • Member

  • 679 posts
  • Joined: April 05

Posted 30 March 2006 - 10:34

Okay first time i tried a simulation game and am ther no. 3 in a red bull for bahrain practice. now when is qualifying gonna start????

#98 Marcel Schot

Marcel Schot
  • Member

  • 5,459 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 30 March 2006 - 10:38

Originally posted by rad787
Okay first time i tried a simulation game and am ther no. 3 in a red bull for bahrain practice. now when is qualifying gonna start????

24 hours after practice started You'll see the remaining time until the next session over at the right above the timesheet.

#99 StickShift

StickShift
  • Member

  • 5,386 posts
  • Joined: September 01

Posted 30 March 2006 - 17:46

God damn it. My teammate in my public game has disappeared. Is there nothing that I can do?

Advertisement

#100 Marcel Schot

Marcel Schot
  • Member

  • 5,459 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 30 March 2006 - 17:53

Originally posted by StickShift
God damn it. My teammate in my public game has disappeared. Is there nothing that I can do?

Not for now, but looking at the forum there's a solution in the works.