Photo

Things to do at Silverstone

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Mischa Bijenhof

Mischa Bijenhof

• 306 posts

Posted 17 May 2006 - 12:59

I'll be attending the British Grand Prix next month. Since it's my first time at Silvertsone, I was wondering if there's anything worth sightseeing. Surely a museum of some sort?

Advertisement

#2 James Page

James Page

• 364 posts

Posted 17 May 2006 - 14:13

I think you might be disappointed on that scoreā€¦

It might have changed in recent years, but there was certainly nothing along those lines the last time I was there.

#3 Mark Bennett

Mark Bennett

• 256 posts

Posted 17 May 2006 - 14:39

Definitely no musem... :(

#4 LB

LB

• 12,483 posts

Posted 17 May 2006 - 14:43

Well Donington is about 50 miles up the M1 but other than that there is no Museum that I can think of.

#5 David McKinney

David McKinney

• 14,156 posts

Posted 17 May 2006 - 15:12

There is a good motorsport bookshop on the estate

#6 bradbury west

bradbury west

• 4,566 posts

Posted 17 May 2006 - 15:50

Originally posted by LB
Well Donington is about 50 miles up the M1 but other than that there is no Museum that I can think of.

As you are coming over from Nijmegen the extra mileage up to Mr Wheatcroft's museum is only a short journey extra, and very well worth it . I am sure that you will not be disappointed. It is a marvellous collection. There is also the Gaydon museum just off the M42, if that sort of thing interests you.

RL

#7 LotusElise

LotusElise

• 620 posts

Posted 17 May 2006 - 20:56

I definitely recommend the Gaydon Heritage Motor Centre.
Silverstone itself is short on extra attractions, and the village of Silverstone is just that - a village.

I've not been to the Donington museum , but Donington is super-easy to find.

#8 macoran

macoran

• 3,989 posts

Posted 17 May 2006 - 22:30

Originally posted by bradbury west

I am sure that you will not be disappointed. It is a marvellous collection.

RL