Photo

Bugatti T251; was Colombo ahead of his time?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 bradbury west

bradbury west

• 6,096 posts

Posted 18 May 2006 - 17:37

Firstly, I am not an engineer, so I expect to be met with hoots of derision for this, but it is something which has intrigued me for a while.

The Bugatti T251 is usually regarded as something of a failure, qv its one race appearance.

However, looking in the files for something else, I came across a DCN article on the T251 (and the T32 tank).

Ignoring the other innovations which the T251 had,
design of the engine
transverse engine (I know about Cisitalia),
gearbox with Porsche syncro, and diff., integral with the crankcase - it would be 8 years before Honda and Maserati came up with the similar, but V12/combined gearbox set up.
hollow, centrifugally cooled discs with twin calipers
coolant running through chassis tubes.
perhaps unwittingly advanced body shape.

it is the original suspension which intrigues me. Doug's article features a small Ludvigsen photo of the rear suspension, which was replicated at the front.

Apart from the de Dion tube and twin radius rods, this featured " at each hub a vertical pushrod to operate bell-crank spring-actuators which pivoted on bearings high on the chassis, their projecting inboard ends then compressing long push-rods reacting against steeply angled coil spring/damper units anchored low on the opposite side of the frame, where several chassis tubes converge. This arrangement gave a kind of "X" shaped spring and pushrod formation criss-crossing the frame"

Presumably this would aim/help to optimise wheel verticality vs body roll? It might also have helped to produce the good traction, coupled with mid engine etc., perhaps also a more stable braking situation at the front.

The photo makes this clear. Perhaps Karl Ludvigsen could put the photo up.