Jump to content


Photo

MY AUTOSPORT.COM - questions, feedback & errors


  • Please log in to reply
263 replies to this topic

#51 baddog

baddog
  • Member

  • 23,262 posts
  • Joined: June 99

Posted 16 August 2006 - 06:50

Great on the world time, I use that and the schedule box lot to make sure I dont miss races and sessions..

Advertisement

#52 mark f1

mark f1
  • Member

  • 1,871 posts
  • Joined: February 00

Posted 16 August 2006 - 07:37

Editing a 'Time around the World' entry doesn't seem to work. Seems to jump back to a previous saved list of entries.

#53 mark f1

mark f1
  • Member

  • 1,871 posts
  • Joined: February 00

Posted 16 August 2006 - 08:08

As someone else mentioned, being able to move the tab sequence would be good.

Thanks!
Mark

#54 kar

kar
  • Member

  • 10,307 posts
  • Joined: January 06

Posted 16 August 2006 - 08:23

Awesome, really awesome. And that's just re not having the ads :D

Seriously this is very cool good work :)

#55 Jodum5

Jodum5
  • Member

  • 1,247 posts
  • Joined: July 04

Posted 16 August 2006 - 13:14

I'm willing to bet ads will find their way into these pages.

#56 bira

bira
  • Member

  • 13,348 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 16 August 2006 - 13:19

Originally posted by Jodum5
I'm willing to bet ads will find their way into these pages.


How much?

#57 bira

bira
  • Member

  • 13,348 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 16 August 2006 - 13:21

Originally posted by Hellenic tifosi
Thanks a lot for the addition!

Regarding the RSS boxes, I added a box for the greek sports-related website, www.contra.gr (RSS feed link: http://www.contra.gr/rss/home). However, the Greek language appears "garbled" on the RSS title, while the links (also in Greek) appear normally.

Perhaps I should also email the website as well to inform them on Thursday afternoon when I will be back home.

In any case, it is also a case of something trivial, so don't waste much time over it.


When the name of the feed is stored in the db, it is parsed, so yes, non Latin characters tend to become garbled. I fixed it for your feed, but I would say you should recommend to your contra website to use English only in their RSS title.

#58 bira

bira
  • Member

  • 13,348 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 16 August 2006 - 13:22

Originally posted by mark f1
Editing a 'Time around the World' entry doesn't seem to work. Seems to jump back to a previous saved list of entries.


I'll fix it, sorry

#59 isynge

isynge
  • Member

  • 76 posts
  • Joined: January 03

Posted 16 August 2006 - 13:29

Genuinely impressed with functionality and look'n'feel. Comfortably enough to make me stop questioning value of Autosport site overall and be tempted to make it my homepage.

Congratulations to all concerned.

Advertisement

#60 babbel

babbel
  • Racing Sims Host

  • 2,323 posts
  • Joined: March 99

Posted 16 August 2006 - 13:50

Originally posted by bira


How much?


:lol:

I've been using it for a few weeks now and even when it was still in development I ditched the old "my atlas" because this just blows the old out of the water in every possible way!

#61 Jodum5

Jodum5
  • Member

  • 1,247 posts
  • Joined: July 04

Posted 16 August 2006 - 14:41

Originally posted by bira


How much?


I'll bet you a free subscription that an ad will show up on that page within a year.

#62 bira

bira
  • Member

  • 13,348 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 16 August 2006 - 14:56

Originally posted by Jodum5
I'll bet you a free subscription that an ad will show up on that page within a year.


That's what you get. What do I get if no ad will show up on that page within a year?

#63 Rich

Rich
  • Member

  • 11,704 posts
  • Joined: May 99

Posted 16 August 2006 - 15:42

Agree with babbel. I much prefer the new version, and switched the moment I had access. Although that's not to say there was anything wrong with MyAtlas. Quite the opposite, it's been the home page for both my home and work PCs since the day it was launched. However, with the new tabs, multiple RSS feeds, direct Wikipedia link, weather, etc, the new version has become even more invaluable than before.

Anybody who doesn't make this their home page is missing out big-time imho. I'd need about a dozen browser windows open to replicate the content that I'm getting on this one screen.

#64 Jodum5

Jodum5
  • Member

  • 1,247 posts
  • Joined: July 04

Posted 16 August 2006 - 16:40

Originally posted by bira


That's what you get. What do I get if no ad will show up on that page within a year?


I won't post on the BB for a year or a promise to renew my subscription, whichever you prefer

#65 bira

bira
  • Member

  • 13,348 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 16 August 2006 - 16:48

Originally posted by Jodum5


I won't post on the BB for a year or a promise to renew my subscription, whichever you prefer


I don't prefer either. They're both your business.

I want cash. Personally to me. And I want lots of it :D

#66 Jodum5

Jodum5
  • Member

  • 1,247 posts
  • Joined: July 04

Posted 16 August 2006 - 16:57

.... I suppose I should take the hint that you're you're pretty sure you're likely to win the bet?

#67 bira

bira
  • Member

  • 13,348 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 16 August 2006 - 17:01

Originally posted by Jodum5
.... I suppose I should take the hint that you're you're pretty sure you're likely to win the bet?


;)

#68 bira

bira
  • Member

  • 13,348 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 16 August 2006 - 17:02

By the way, to all those who have been whining to me that they are missing the famous My Atlas orange, here's a sneak preview of what's coming soon to a theatre near you... :D

#69 mark f1

mark f1
  • Member

  • 1,871 posts
  • Joined: February 00

Posted 16 August 2006 - 18:01

cool :clap:

#70 D82

D82
  • Member

  • 1,391 posts
  • Joined: April 01

Posted 16 August 2006 - 18:40

Bira, all my crash.net RSS feeds seems like they are from January 1st. Is this related with Autosport or crash.net?

#71 Ross Stonefeld

Ross Stonefeld
  • Member

  • 56,837 posts
  • Joined: August 99

Posted 16 August 2006 - 18:46

Brave man...

#72 bira

bira
  • Member

  • 13,348 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 16 August 2006 - 19:04

Originally posted by D82
Bira, all my crash.net RSS feeds seems like they are from January 1st. Is this related with Autosport or crash.net?


Looking at an example of their RSS feed in XML format, they simply do not include a date/time for ANY of their headlines - hence, the RSS reader gets a 0 as a reply for the time, and 0 = January 1st 1970....

Example from their feed for an item:


Lola to revise car in bid to hold off competition.
Lola have announced that they are introducing changes to their B05/40 LMP2 model in a bid to stave off competition from the likes of Penske Porsche and the forthcoming Acura American Le Mans entry.
http://www.crash.net...id=28&id=134079


Maybe they have a good reason not to include the date and time.... ;) :p

#73 D82

D82
  • Member

  • 1,391 posts
  • Joined: April 01

Posted 16 August 2006 - 19:47

Thanks :)

Also a big thumbs up for My Autosport. Greatly appreciated :up:

#74 windsok

windsok
  • Member

  • 576 posts
  • Joined: May 04

Posted 17 August 2006 - 05:51

I am finding some of my rss feeds dont display the date of the article properly, see "CRASH.NET MOTOGP NEWSFEED" or "THE UNOFFICIAL APPLE WEBLOG (TUAW)" for an example.

#75 bira

bira
  • Member

  • 13,348 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 17 August 2006 - 06:11

Originally posted by windsok
I am finding some of my rss feeds dont display the date of the article properly, see "CRASH.NET MOTOGP NEWSFEED" or "THE UNOFFICIAL APPLE WEBLOG (TUAW)" for an example.


Please read two posts above yours.................

#76 windsok

windsok
  • Member

  • 576 posts
  • Joined: May 04

Posted 17 August 2006 - 06:18

Originally posted by bira


Please read two posts above yours.................


Oops, sorry, I somehow missed that :blush:

I expected that would be the problem, maybe i can pester them to add dates to their rss feed.

#77 Costaz

Costaz
  • Member

  • 1,535 posts
  • Joined: December 03

Posted 17 August 2006 - 09:30

It looks awesome!!
Big big :up: :up: :up: :up: to everyone that worked on that.

A request/suggestion, regarding the BB headers. Do you think it would be possible to have an arrow or sign to send the user directly to the first unread post? I thought it was something missing from the my atlas as well, and if you follow a thread, you cannot really go back it from my.autosport; the way I understand it is you either go the first post (and then click on the 'Go to first unread post' link) or click the author of the last poster and go to the last post. I can see that it may be connected to the BB usernames, so it may be difficult to implement, but I thought it would be very helpful.

In any case, great work, well done :wave: :wave: :wave:

Costas

#78 bira

bira
  • Member

  • 13,348 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 17 August 2006 - 09:35

Do you think it would make better sense to have the thread title linked to the "go to first unread" rather than to the first post?

The forum boxes are such a struggle :|

I am thinking of creating a second version for the forums, which has each thread on two lines - and therefore with more details and options. So users could then choose if they want the 'lite' version (as it is now), or the 'full' version, which is near-similar to the forum's page itself

#79 Costaz

Costaz
  • Member

  • 1,535 posts
  • Joined: December 03

Posted 17 August 2006 - 09:47

Originally posted by bira
Do you think it would make better sense to have the thread title linked to the "go to first unread" rather than to the first post?


Hm, I think that actually makes perfect sense: If someone hasn't opened a thread before, the link will take them to the first post anyway, if they had read the thread before, the link will lead them to the first unread. It will make navigating to the bb thourgh the my.autosport much easier, I think!


The forum boxes are such a struggle :|


Yeah, I can see that.. I hope the 'first unread' thing may help.. Good luck!

C.

Advertisement

#80 bira

bira
  • Member

  • 13,348 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 17 August 2006 - 09:59

OK, I made the change (added &goto=newpost to the thread link). Let's see if anyone complains :D

#81 mark f1

mark f1
  • Member

  • 1,871 posts
  • Joined: February 00

Posted 17 August 2006 - 10:08

Bira,

I can't see it.... :confused:

Mark

#82 alexcason

alexcason
  • Member

  • 143 posts
  • Joined: September 04

Posted 17 August 2006 - 10:17

I have a problem when going straight to my autosport when logged out and then when I log in mt autosport doesn't work properly.

Screenshot:

Posted Image

#83 bira

bira
  • Member

  • 13,348 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 17 August 2006 - 10:56

:eek: That is inexplicable.

Try a hard refresh?

#84 bira

bira
  • Member

  • 13,348 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 17 August 2006 - 10:56

Originally posted by mark f1
Bira,

I can't see it.... :confused:

Mark


See what, sorry?

#85 alexcason

alexcason
  • Member

  • 143 posts
  • Joined: September 04

Posted 17 August 2006 - 11:27

Originally posted by bira
:eek: That is inexplicable.

Try a hard refresh?


If I go to the home page and then back to My Autosport then it works fine, it's just when I log straight in to My Autosport that it goes all wierd.

#86 bira

bira
  • Member

  • 13,348 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 17 August 2006 - 11:29

Originally posted by alexcason


If I go to the home page and then back to My Autosport then it works fine, it's just when I log straight in to My Autosport that it goes all wierd.


I don't understand what you mean by that, but I get the impression it's something to do with your browser's cache. Time to clean it up, maybe? Or just clean up the autosport.com files from it?

#87 Joel

Joel
  • New Member

  • 3 posts
  • Joined: May 05

Posted 17 August 2006 - 12:54

The possibilities of the new layouts are very interesting but my layouts are not saved despite the confirmation dialog.

Changes to individual boxes via Edit are preserved as are additions and removals from the layout using the Add Content page but closing a box in a layout will see it reappear if the page is reloaded.

Changes to the tab settings are also preserved.

Boxes can be repositioned OK and the interface is working at that level but none of the changes stick.
Otherwise, all Autosport.com pages are drawing correctly.

My system:
PowerBook G4, Mac OS X 10.4.6
OmniWeb 5.5b3, Java, JavaScript and cookies enabled.

Joel.

#88 mmmcurry

mmmcurry
  • Member

  • 1,582 posts
  • Joined: March 01

Posted 17 August 2006 - 14:09

Ok, got the new look my Autosport set up looking how I like it, how do I get it so the links open in the current window instead of a new one?

Steve.

#89 Eli

Eli
  • autosport.com news editor

  • 2,690 posts
  • Joined: August 99

Posted 17 August 2006 - 14:14

Originally posted by mmmcurry
Ok, got the new look my Autosport set up looking how I like it, how do I get it so the links open in the current window instead of a new one?

Steve.


Click on the small E on the tab name and you'll see it.

#90 mark f1

mark f1
  • Member

  • 1,871 posts
  • Joined: February 00

Posted 17 August 2006 - 14:19

Bira,

My misunderstanding WRT the change you made for linking the board title to the first unread link. I was looking for another button to press... :blush:

Mark

#91 mmmcurry

mmmcurry
  • Member

  • 1,582 posts
  • Joined: March 01

Posted 17 August 2006 - 15:12

Originally posted by Eli


Click on the small E on the tab name and you'll see it.


Ok, got it now, thanks.

Steve.

#92 Rich

Rich
  • Member

  • 11,704 posts
  • Joined: May 99

Posted 17 August 2006 - 15:14

Originally posted by bira
OK, I made the change (added &goto=newpost to the thread link). Let's see if anyone complains :D


Not a complaint as such, but it's weird. I opened a new PC thread that I hadn't opened before, and it dropped me in half-way down the first page. :confused:

#93 pjasper

pjasper
  • New Member

  • 2 posts
  • Joined: August 06

Posted 17 August 2006 - 19:10

Originally posted by bira
Done

Thanks, that works well!

#94 mahelgel

mahelgel
  • Member

  • 4,560 posts
  • Joined: November 99

Posted 17 August 2006 - 20:46

A small question about the "forum headers"...
I'm using opera, and leftclicking on the forumheader, takes me to the different forums, opening them in a new page, just as it should and it works perfectly...

Since i'm using opera (version 9.01 on windowsXP), i usually clicks links with my middle button. This opens them in a background window, and clicking on the forumheaders i open the forum in a backgroundpage as it should. It also, however, starts to drag the box around on the layout, causing some unwanted redesigns :) Is this just an opera problem, and am i stuck with left-clicking the links and just swap back to the "My atlasf1" page for opening other forums/articles? before i start reading them?

Posted Image
Picture shows where i press the middle button, if you didn't get what i was trying to explain :p

#95 bira

bira
  • Member

  • 13,348 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 17 August 2006 - 21:30

Originally posted by Joel
The possibilities of the new layouts are very interesting but my layouts are not saved despite the confirmation dialog.

Changes to individual boxes via Edit are preserved as are additions and removals from the layout using the Add Content page but closing a box in a layout will see it reappear if the page is reloaded.

Changes to the tab settings are also preserved.

Boxes can be repositioned OK and the interface is working at that level but none of the changes stick.
Otherwise, all Autosport.com pages are drawing correctly.

My system:
PowerBook G4, Mac OS X 10.4.6
OmniWeb 5.5b3, Java, JavaScript and cookies enabled.

Joel.


Joel,

I've done some search on google, and it appears OmniWeb 5.5 (and other versions as well) have several bugs where it comes to AJAX.

The page layout is saved via XmlHttpRequest, and since OmniWeb has a bug with that protocol, it seems you are unable to save. A few older browsers (including Safari under version 1.2) will also have problems.

I know this is an annoying thing, but I can't do anything about it really. Only thing I can suggest is that you arrange you boxes in a different browser, click save, then use OmniWeb. Or something like that.

#96 bira

bira
  • Member

  • 13,348 posts
  • Joined: November 98

Posted 17 August 2006 - 21:32

Originally posted by mahelgel
A small question about the "forum headers"...
I'm using opera, and leftclicking on the forumheader, takes me to the different forums, opening them in a new page, just as it should and it works perfectly...

Since i'm using opera (version 9.01 on windowsXP), i usually clicks links with my middle button. This opens them in a background window, and clicking on the forumheaders i open the forum in a backgroundpage as it should. It also, however, starts to drag the box around on the layout, causing some unwanted redesigns :) Is this just an opera problem, and am i stuck with left-clicking the links and just swap back to the "My atlasf1" page for opening other forums/articles? before i start reading them?

Posted Image
Picture shows where i press the middle button, if you didn't get what i was trying to explain :p


Can't really test that. I don't have a three-key mouse.

In general, though, I'm kinda unhappy with having a link in the draggable area. I'm looking at moving all links off that area, so we'll see.

#97 mahelgel

mahelgel
  • Member

  • 4,560 posts
  • Joined: November 99

Posted 17 August 2006 - 21:51

Originally posted by bira


Can't really test that. I don't have a three-key mouse.

In general, though, I'm kinda unhappy with having a link in the draggable area. I'm looking at moving all links off that area, so we'll see.


ok :up: putting the link one line down, or perhaps splitting the headline i two parts, link and moveable "area"? not knowing whats possible techwise, i shouldn't make silly suggestions anyway ;)

#98 JForce

JForce
  • Member

  • 13,840 posts
  • Joined: March 01

Posted 17 August 2006 - 22:30

You added the "edit all your links" option :clap: :love: :kiss:

#99 le chat noir

le chat noir
  • Member

  • 4,276 posts
  • Joined: June 05

Posted 17 August 2006 - 22:31

Bira,

Firstly, big congratulations. A job well done.

Next, I'd like to add that I'm enjoying the use of clicking the section header to get into Racing Comments, or where ever, so please don't halt that.

Otherwise everything I use is great as is. I wonder if you could have a 'columns' box. I do like to see those mugshots on the main page, makes it seem more of a 'journal', if you know what I mean, but not a biggy.

Anyway, what made me post was your earlier post on working on the forums. I've always wanted the main forum page to be re-done, so that the F1 Court is perhaps dropped to the bottom of the list, and the ones still working are brought more to the fore. Not a major worry, so I've never said anything before, but if you're gonna do it, thought I should say. Just realised you're actually talking about the my autosport forum box, but anyway...

On that I think linking to first unread would be helpful. I also have wondered in the past whether certain stories should automatically link to a thread of their own. I'm thinking of Dieter Renken's and Tony Dodgins' pieces mostly. I know I could, anyone could, make such a thread anyway, but people don't. They just add little tidbits to several threads on the run, and yet so much discussion could arise out of those articles - the article would become much like a first post, albeit extremely well written! Also I think it may bring more autosport readers into the forums - don't know how much that would be a good thing or bad, or if its even true.

Also, is it possible for pages to launch in the same window as my autosport, rather than as pop ups?

Anyway, well done for conituing to impress and making things better.

Advertisement

#100 Joel

Joel
  • New Member

  • 3 posts
  • Joined: May 05

Posted 17 August 2006 - 23:39

Originally posted by bira


Joel,

I've done some search on google, and it appears OmniWeb 5.5 (and other versions as well) have several bugs where it comes to AJAX.

The page layout is saved via XmlHttpRequest, and since OmniWeb has a bug with that protocol, it seems you are unable to save. A few older browsers (including Safari under version 1.2) will also have problems.

I know this is an annoying thing, but I can't do anything about it really. Only thing I can suggest is that you arrange you boxes in a different browser, click save, then use OmniWeb. Or something like that.


Bira,

Many thanks for your research and suggestions, I'll give it a try and report the issue with Omni, they have been very responsive to problems reported to them in the past.

Regards,

Joel.