Jump to content


Photo

Formula One Championship on PS3


  • Please log in to reply
188 replies to this topic

#151 Dan F

Dan F
  • Member

  • 50 posts
  • Joined: October 07

Posted 07 April 2008 - 14:55

According to rumour (and purely a rumour at that), FOM want $50m pa for the licence... :eek:

Advertisement

#152 Tom Moro

Tom Moro
  • Member

  • 529 posts
  • Joined: March 08

Posted 07 April 2008 - 15:04

I recently met with a guy from SCEE about the negotiations and indeed they are in deadlock since BE is 'playing hardball' to quote the guy. BE would rather have no game (like last year and this year) than let Sony get away with paying the same as before. Crazy. The SCEE guy said that if the greenlight is given now (which it hasn't been) the soonest they could get the new game out would be 2009 - the code could apparently borrow aspects from the new Wipeout game

#153 Hacklerf

Hacklerf
  • Member

  • 2,333 posts
  • Joined: March 07

Posted 10 April 2008 - 14:49

Originally posted by acey
It's quite strange that no one seems to have picked up the rights for the 08 season. I mean with the Lewis Hamilton Hype (hype in GB and many other countries), a couple of good Germans up there, as well as BMW and Mercedes doing well, the big interest in Spain because of Alonso and of course the Italians being crazy about Ferrari I find it strange that we don’t have a F1 title this year.

If EA can release a football game (or even 2 or 3 releases / year) someone should be able to release a good f1sim every year, no?


I believe EA have bought the rights to Lewis Hamilton Grand Prix game

#154 Gemini

Gemini
  • Member

  • 3,391 posts
  • Joined: December 99

Posted 14 April 2008 - 10:11

OK. with no hopes for F1 sim on PC, I have gave up and bought myself first console, PS3.

With experience with this equipment I have few questions. I intend to play only racing games and need few advices on completing my PS3 'sim rig'


1. I understand I can use my G25 wheel/pedals with it, right?

2. Can I use my pc monitor instead of TV? It's 27' LCD with 1900x1200 resulution.

3. If above is possible, how to get the sound from PS3? I mean usual amplifier with speakers should work, right?


Sorry for, most probably, retarted questions. I am just an old fart who tries to use new toy :)

#155 UPRC

UPRC
  • Member

  • 4,610 posts
  • Joined: February 99

Posted 14 April 2008 - 12:20

Originally posted by Gemini
OK. with no hopes for F1 sim on PC, I have gave up and bought myself first console, PS3.

With experience with this equipment I have few questions. I intend to play only racing games and need few advices on completing my PS3 'sim rig'


1. I understand I can use my G25 wheel/pedals with it, right?

2. Can I use my pc monitor instead of TV? It's 27' LCD with 1900x1200 resulution.

3. If above is possible, how to get the sound from PS3? I mean usual amplifier with speakers should work, right?


Sorry for, most probably, retarted questions. I am just an old fart who tries to use new toy :)


1. No idea.

2. Sure thing, as long as you have a cable HDMI -> PCI. I played on my monitor when I first bought a PS3 because I didn't have a hi-def TV at the time.

3. Worked for me. :up:

#156 BerndRos

BerndRos
  • Member

  • 128 posts
  • Joined: October 07

Posted 14 April 2008 - 12:42

Yes on all points

lucky for me I get to use mine on a Corbeau seat and G25 etc plus in a bespoke cinema room with 2 metre screen ..................utter bliss


:smoking:

#157 Gemini

Gemini
  • Member

  • 3,391 posts
  • Joined: December 99

Posted 15 April 2008 - 09:28

OK I tested F1 game. What a disaster. Maybe I set something wrong, but I doubt you can mess settings up on console. The game is just pathetic.

Anyway, thank I also have GT5P and this one makes PS3 a worthy investement. Otherwise I would have throw the whole thing away.

#158 kamix

kamix
  • Member

  • 1,238 posts
  • Joined: October 04

Posted 09 May 2008 - 07:59

I've had the game for ~6 months now, and I'll add my opinion that it is truly shit.

Anyone who has played GP, F1C, GPL etc. should not purchase this game as you will be disappointed.

#159 Mika Mika

Mika Mika
  • Member

  • 6,738 posts
  • Joined: October 07

Posted 29 May 2008 - 10:30

Out of all the F1 Games I have Plaid the ony ones i found good are

Formula 1 97 PS1
Formula 1 2004 PS2

Advertisement

#160 rayyu882

rayyu882
  • Member

  • 432 posts
  • Joined: May 00

Posted 29 May 2008 - 16:56

It only suck for some of you, I bought this game since it was released and still playing it today!!! Worth every penny I spend on it!

#161 steelyman

steelyman
  • Member

  • 214 posts
  • Joined: March 07

Posted 16 June 2008 - 22:41

i started playing this again since they released the patch enabling force feedback and am having loads of fun with it.

question though for anyone who knows- is there a way to switch to wet tires during the race? i started a race on drys because it was sunny but then about half way through it starts raining. i thought you could pit to change to wets but couldnt figure out how. is there a way to do this and im just not figuring it out?

#162 Ivan

Ivan
  • Member

  • 6,646 posts
  • Joined: March 99

Posted 12 August 2008 - 14:09

I just got my ps3 a few months ago...can any of you tell me if there is a site that has racing setups I can use?

#163 rayyu882

rayyu882
  • Member

  • 432 posts
  • Joined: May 00

Posted 13 August 2008 - 18:37

Originally posted by Ivan
I just got my ps3 a few months ago...can any of you tell me if there is a site that has racing setups I can use?


The racing forum at playstation underground site have couple threads on that, let me know if you trouble finding them!

#164 steelyman

steelyman
  • Member

  • 214 posts
  • Joined: March 07

Posted 13 August 2008 - 18:38

Originally posted by Ivan
I just got my ps3 a few months ago...can any of you tell me if there is a site that has racing setups I can use?


there are a few at this site:
http://www.gtplanet....splay.php?f=187

#165 Ivan

Ivan
  • Member

  • 6,646 posts
  • Joined: March 99

Posted 14 August 2008 - 06:08

ray & steely
Thanks I'll look them up.

#166 The Kanisteri

The Kanisteri
  • Member

  • 10,510 posts
  • Joined: August 99

Posted 15 September 2008 - 11:09

I recently got this game for myself and uh, quite difficult when compared to PS2 version.

I barely made to Toro Rosso test driver and later 2nd driver. Partly good and partly bad.

Anyway, during test driving 'missions' I had to do some rain tests in complete dry weather, which was odd.
And one failed mission was at wet imola trying to do dry slick test. :lol:
When I reload that career point luckily weather was fine and my tires too.

Stupid bugs? Is there updates for it?

#167 Ivan

Ivan
  • Member

  • 6,646 posts
  • Joined: March 99

Posted 15 September 2008 - 15:54

Yeah, I had the wet tires dry weather test. I thought hmmm what on earth is going on? Then by accident I hit the look behind me button and noticed that the track was indeed DAMP. I passed that test though. :p

The wet track dry tires test was insane. Couldn't stay on the track to save my life.

I'm racing on the med level at the moment though for McLaren from Ferrari. Which was interesting because I had won the WDC for Ferrari got offered the Mc seat but was only hired as the test driver. After I passed all the tests, then got promoted to 2nd driver for Monaco. I came in 2nd by the end of the year missing the WDC by 8 points!

After I win the WDC for Mc I'm going to change to hard level.

What I do hate about the testing is that you test (game wise) early in the morning and the SUN is in the wrong place and you can't see clearly to get your apexes right!

#168 Ivan

Ivan
  • Member

  • 6,646 posts
  • Joined: March 99

Posted 16 September 2008 - 21:09

Does anyone know how to turn on the press conference feature?

#169 Ivan

Ivan
  • Member

  • 6,646 posts
  • Joined: March 99

Posted 19 September 2008 - 06:01

Something quite unexpected happened to me the other day. After the last race of the season Brazil and I'd won both championships...THE TEAM RETIRED ME!!! I didn't know that was a feature of the game, to be forced into retirement. :rotfl:

#170 Tenmantaylor

Tenmantaylor
  • Member

  • 8,317 posts
  • Joined: July 01

Posted 19 September 2008 - 19:30

Did you set difficulty to "Damon Hill"? :rotfl:

#171 Ivan

Ivan
  • Member

  • 6,646 posts
  • Joined: March 99

Posted 20 September 2008 - 03:14

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

#172 pRy

pRy
  • Member

  • 10,924 posts
  • Joined: March 99

Posted 24 February 2009 - 22:29

So I'm getting a little bored of driving just Spain & Canada with the demo.. I've even taken to starting at the back of the grid (giving the AI a 10 second head start) to give myself a challenge on "easy". I don't bother with the other difficulty settings, the AI just seem to get stupidly fast. I do turn off all aids tho.

But my question is.. is it worth buying this game considering I actually think the demo is a good pick up and play type racer? Or did the full version make the game worse?

#173 Craven Morehead

Craven Morehead
  • Member

  • 4,509 posts
  • Joined: February 06

Posted 13 March 2009 - 06:21

I'm not a gamer but I love this game. It's the only one I play. I love how James is always missing it when I pass someone/ someone passes me. The guy on the radio knows it right away, but Allen is still describing the previous order in the 'broadcast'. :lol: Man, you can't get more accurate than that!

#174 Poltergeistes

Poltergeistes
  • Member

  • 372 posts
  • Joined: December 08

Posted 29 April 2009 - 02:35

Originally posted by pRy
So I'm getting a little bored of driving just Spain & Canada with the demo.. I've even taken to starting at the back of the grid (giving the AI a 10 second head start) to give myself a challenge on "easy". I don't bother with the other difficulty settings, the AI just seem to get stupidly fast. I do turn off all aids tho.

But my question is.. is it worth buying this game considering I actually think the demo is a good pick up and play type racer? Or did the full version make the game worse?


I know you didn't post this exactly now, so in case you haven't bought it, i would definetly say buy it, because i have beent aking a look at the codemaster version and they will release the game only in the fall i think and only for wii and psp, and the other major platforms will only be sometime next year... i mean they have had the game license for a year, and i would think they would make one for the 2008 season, but no, and their excuses is that they want it to be accurate and all, but by shots of the income game alone it looks crappy, the graphics of the f1 championship edition looks better.

f1 CE definetly isn't one of the best games, but as far as formula one racing goes... i guess its top... bernie haven't exactly set the bar high thou.

the circuits are great, the details of each is very fair, the only missing thing there is the fact that because of the f1 season, spa was out of the calendar so you wont get spa, but you do get imola.

#175 donone123

donone123
  • New Member

  • 1 posts
  • Joined: June 09

Posted 19 June 2009 - 13:26

Jesus Christ those graphics are immense!

#176 Ev0lutionz

Ev0lutionz
  • New Member

  • 28 posts
  • Joined: July 09

Posted 26 July 2009 - 08:03

This game's system is bugged. I cut a chicane, i get a 5-6 second rev cut. Wtf. Even when i try to slow down and correct myself, Monza 1st corner, i still get a 5-6 rev cut even though i lost positions.

#177 Dispenser89

Dispenser89
  • Member

  • 3,460 posts
  • Joined: July 09

Posted 28 July 2009 - 23:16

That's the penalty in game instead of a drive through penalty or 10 second stop and go. Hopefully, Codemasters change it back to normal F1. It's annoying at tracks like Canada and France where it can be easy to get a penalty if you're slightly wrong hitting the apexes.

Edited by Dispenser89, 28 July 2009 - 23:16.


#178 UPRC

UPRC
  • Member

  • 4,610 posts
  • Joined: February 99

Posted 05 August 2009 - 15:01

I absolutely hated the rev limit penalty. It destroyed the racing.

#179 Poltergeistes

Poltergeistes
  • Member

  • 372 posts
  • Joined: December 08

Posted 29 September 2009 - 00:34

For some reason it doesn't work to play online anymore... i wonder if its just me or the thing is just down for good? used to have fun playing online... now doesnt work. anyone knows anything about it?

Advertisement

#180 OctaneJunkie

OctaneJunkie
  • New Member

  • 1 posts
  • Joined: November 09

Posted 17 November 2009 - 10:53

This game is so great. I spend far too much time playing. My girlfriend is angry and a little jelous :drunk:

#181 wewantourdarbyback

wewantourdarbyback
  • Member

  • 6,358 posts
  • Joined: September 08

Posted 18 November 2009 - 13:02

This game is so great. I spend far too much time playing. My girlfriend is angry and a little jelous :drunk:


If you have time for a girlfriend you're just not committed enough.

#182 911

911
  • Member

  • 2,207 posts
  • Joined: April 99

Posted 30 December 2009 - 02:35

I just started playing this game last week. I also downloaded the force feedback, so the game feels pretty good. The one thing I don't care for is the lull with the throttle after I'm doing braking. It seems like the revs drop all the way down and there's a momentary dead spot with the throttle. Does anyone else experience this?

#183 Craven Morehead

Craven Morehead
  • Member

  • 4,509 posts
  • Joined: February 06

Posted 30 December 2009 - 08:46

If you have time for a girlfriend you're just not committed enough.

:lol: :clap:

#184 911

911
  • Member

  • 2,207 posts
  • Joined: April 99

Posted 04 January 2010 - 20:39

Have any of you guys unlocked any cars? I now have the '71/'72 JPS Lotus, '65 Honda, late '70s Renault Turbo, and a '58/'59 Cooper. The sound of the Lotus & Renault are very realistic - very cool!

#185 Redstorm

Redstorm
  • Member

  • 343 posts
  • Joined: February 10

Posted 17 February 2010 - 16:28

Glad I stumbled across this thread. I'm so behind the times. Don't have my ps3 hooked to the net, hell don't even have the net at home! Posting on my iPhone.... Didn't know the game had FFB now. That was my one gripe. That and can you load your profile on a G25 now or must I still have to turn on a controller?? Drives me nuts. Would like to race others but if you can't load your own setup I won't be much of anything. I HATE oversteer!!! I think the most balanced setup I use has +15 downforce on rear over the front. Took me forever to get a drive on career on hard because of that, Barcelona tests especially. Always spin in last turn. Once I got a ride it was game over though... Finished first season with Midland in third place. AI is a little more rutheless in career but not much.

anyone got any lap times? Would consider myself decent and would like to compare. Working but will post some in a couple hrs when I get off...



#186 Villes Gilleneuve

Villes Gilleneuve
  • Member

  • 2,248 posts
  • Joined: April 08

Posted 19 February 2010 - 21:04

That's the penalty in game instead of a drive through penalty or 10 second stop and go. Hopefully, Codemasters change it back to normal F1. It's annoying at tracks like Canada and France where it can be easy to get a penalty if you're slightly wrong hitting the apexes.



or battling with another car and going slightly off track.

#187 Redstorm

Redstorm
  • Member

  • 343 posts
  • Joined: February 10

Posted 19 February 2010 - 22:04

Sepang turn 3. Almost DONT want pole because they always banzi into me. Didn't know they had the Nakajima option in 06.

#188 chrisblades85

chrisblades85
  • Member

  • 2,606 posts
  • Joined: July 10

Posted 02 September 2010 - 22:27

I've started playing this again, as I lost my copy ages ago and have borrowed one. Forgot how good it was!

#189 Viktor

Viktor
  • Member

  • 3,391 posts
  • Joined: February 99

Posted 12 September 2010 - 08:37

Got this game this week and it's great. Started a carer and qual in the top 10 with Super Aguri but after 5 races I have only finished one race, need to improve my race nerves :)

/Viktor