Photo

HRG heads

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Sharman

Sharman

• 5,284 posts

Posted 28 February 2007 - 11:41

I know that HRG made a twin-cam conversion to fit a Singer 1500 block, I recall seeing the car at Oulton in the 50s. (54?). I have now found an alloy cross flow head for a BMC "B" series. Does anybody have further and better particulars, why wasn't the twin cam successful and how many cross flows were made for the B series?

Advertisement

#2 Cirrus

Cirrus

• 1,753 posts

Posted 28 February 2007 - 13:34

I'm no expert, but the HRG crossflow head for the B Series was a fairly popular conversion for the MGA and MGB engines. I don't think it's homologated for MG's in historic racing, but I'm pretty sure it is for the TVR Grantura.

#3 Allan Lupton

Allan Lupton

• 4,052 posts

Posted 28 February 2007 - 13:54

Originally posted by Sharman
I know that HRG made a twin-cam conversion to fit a Singer 1500 block, I recall seeing the car at Oulton in the 50s. (54?). I have now found an alloy cross flow head for a BMC "B" series. Does anybody have further and better particulars, why wasn't the twin cam successful and how many cross flows were made for the B series?

Like Cirrus, I remember the HRG-Derrington head for the B series as widely used where the regulations allowed. The cross-flow aspect was perhaps its best feature as it permitted four ports for inlet and exhaust so you could put a couple of twin-choke Webers and a 4-2-1 manifold on and go racing!

The Singer twincam was used in a limited way as a production car, the Hunter saloon from about 1955 (just before the Rootes take-over).

#4 Sharman

Sharman

• 5,284 posts

Posted 28 February 2007 - 16:12

Allen