Divergent Governance: How to Increase Overtaking and Mechanical Diversity

• Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#1 RichardJames

RichardJames

• 5 posts

Posted 30 October 2010 - 05:18

Hello everybody,

My name is Richard James, I am a professional aerospace engineer and I have been a motorsport fan since childhood. Like almost all motorsport enthusiasts I have become disheartened by the mechanical sameness of most series and the lack of action and overtaking, especially in Formula 1. So I decided to put my aerospace root cause analysis skills to use and have a go at trying to solve the problems. The results of my efforts are here http://www.divergentgovernance.co.uk and I would like you to please let me know what you think.

As a heads up to what this idea has achieved so far; it is being debated by Indycar as a possible method to ensure mechanical diversity within the open aero rules for their 2012 car. I am also working very closely with an ex FIA technical consultant who has suggested it is vital to gain as much publicity for my idea as possible, hence the website and this post. The concept will be featured shortly in Racecar Engineering Magazine and it is to be validated by Cambridge University. So, in summary, it is slowly gathering momentum but it requires far more critical mass. This is a powerful voice for the fans to shout loud and clear about what they want to see. This is the reason I am asking you read it, get enthused, and to go forth and spread the word.

Really hope you like it,

Rich

Advertisement

#2 ClubmanGT

ClubmanGT

• 4,183 posts

Posted 30 October 2010 - 05:55

Hi Richard,

Well done on putting together such a comprehensive document. I've had a skim (and probably completely misunderstood it :p ) but I do agree that the philosophy of rule development should not be developing technical written rules to address engineering development, but developing rules rooted in engineering itself.