Photo

RB7 Front Wing Flex [split] [merged]

• Please log in to reply
1331 replies to this topic

#1 Hephaistos

Hephaistos

• 284 posts

Posted 26 March 2011 - 09:03

Could anybody tells me what the rules say about flexi wings? Are they allowed to scrap the ground like this ?

Advertisement

#2 BigCHrome

BigCHrome

• 4,049 posts

Posted 26 March 2011 - 09:07

Could anybody tells me what the rules say about flexi wings? Are they allowed to scrap the ground like this ?

The rules say that.....no part of the car should be designed to flex.

#3 OO7

OO7

• 23,407 posts

Posted 26 March 2011 - 09:10

I agree that the RBR wing does breach the regulations and I said so much last year. The teams know about this and its up to them to develop similar systems.

#4 Hephaistos

Hephaistos

• 284 posts

Posted 26 March 2011 - 09:14

Thank you. So if the rules say that, how on earth do they let that RB7 run?I'm sure we wouldn't be that far off if the flexi wing was taken off. I'm not an engineer but it must bring a significant amount of downforce.

Edited by Hephaistos, 26 March 2011 - 09:14.

#5 BigCHrome

BigCHrome

• 4,049 posts

Posted 26 March 2011 - 09:16

Thank you. So if the rules say that, how on earth do they let that RB7 run?I'm sure we wouldn't be that far off if the flexi wing was taken off. I'm not an engineer but it must bring a significant amount of downforce.

Manipulation of the flexing tests.

#6 Darth Sidious

Darth Sidious

• 995 posts

Posted 26 March 2011 - 09:18

I agree that the RBR wing does breach the regulations and I said so much last year. The teams know about this and its up to them to develop similar systems.

So if the rules say no part of the car should be designed to flex, then yor saying that all the teams must now learn how to design flex into their wings to catch up with Red Bull? So they have to break the rules to catch up with what you see as a rulebreaker, rather then the rulebreaker being reined in?

#7 NoDivergence

NoDivergence