Photo

Too much video content?

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Raemius

Raemius

• 318 posts

Posted 11 April 2019 - 01:04

It is my habit to dip in and out of the news and articles on autosport.com when time permits at work, and I have been doing this for several years. However, I cannot play the video content very regularly, for 2 reasons. Firstly, it disturbs others in the office. Secondly, you really need to watch a complete video and cannot easily pause to answer the phone or do something urgent and then easily pick up the thread of where you were.

This means that I now find myself frustrated by all the news items and articles that I have to just skip over, often with topic titles that intrigue me. I know everyone wants to be a movie star and they can use video to excuse the lack of detail, but please provide a written transcript option for those of us that still like to read the news and not watch it.

Advertisement

#2 jcbc3

jcbc3
  • RC Forum Host

• 12,877 posts

Posted 11 April 2019 - 07:07

I concur.

#3 lustigson

lustigson

• 5,909 posts

Posted 11 April 2019 - 07:29

Written articles are much easier and much quicker scan-read than watching videos or — heaven forbid! — listening to podcasts. I, for one, don't have — and/or don't want to spend — the time to watch/listen to all that information.

#4 KWSN - DSM

KWSN - DSM

• 36,081 posts

Posted 11 April 2019 - 09:27

I concur.

:cool:

#5 milestone 11

milestone 11

• 17,340 posts

Posted 11 April 2019 - 12:22

I agree 100%. Much prefer the written word rather than, ahem!, irrelevant videos. That belief applies even if I could see them which has only been possible for a three week period in the last two years.

#6 noikeee

noikeee

• 23,177 posts

Posted 11 April 2019 - 12:49

The videos are great, been watching them most week nights on Youtube.

#7 Afterburner

Afterburner
  • RC Forum Host

• 9,172 posts

Posted 11 April 2019 - 12:59