Details of UK Motorcycle racing from 1994

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Bigdieseljob

Bigdieseljob

• 2 posts

Posted 17 August 2020 - 15:49

Hi

I'm hoping someone on here can help me with a few details of UK motorcycle racing from the 1990's.

I'm a retired mechanical engineer writing a novel about a seventeen year-old who starts motorcycle racing in 1994. I would like to keep it as factual as possible, so a few questions.

1. I imagine a race licence would be needed back then; if so, as a seventeen year-old would a parent or guardian's signature be required?

2. I read that you needed to be a member of a motorcycle club to obtain a licence; is this correct?

3. Did you need to have a medical?

4. As a seventeen year-old would you be allowed to compete in the 250cc class?

5. Would I be right in thinking, the first event of the season is in April?

6. Regards the race and practice itself. Would practice be on Saturday with the race or races on the Sunday?

Well, I think that's it at this point.

Thanks in advance to anyone who has the time or inclination to reply.

Regards

Bigdieseljob.

Advertisement

#2 D-Type

D-Type

• 9,699 posts

Posted 17 August 2020 - 18:50

It might be worth posting a similar request on the "Motorcycle Racing Nostalgia" subforum.  I never visit it so don't know much about it or how active it is.

It might be an idea to send a "not for publication" letter to Motorcycle News and other Motorcycle magazines.  Again I don't know anything about them other than that I've seen them on the shelves at WH Smith (pre-lockdown).  

And of course there's always the ruling body, the Auto Cycle Union.

Sorry I can't help further.

#3 Michael Ferner

Michael Ferner

• 7,151 posts

Posted 18 August 2020 - 08:02

Unfortunately, the subforum is all but dead at the mo.