Photo

45 years ago yesterday...

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 SKL

SKL

• 1,414 posts

Posted 21 August 2020 - 02:33

Surprised I'd missed this yesterday...    Captain "Nice" succumbed to his injuries from the practice crash two days earlier during the Austrian GP weekend.  

Felt like I'd lost a member of the family-  was lucky enough to have met him and talked with him several times over the years.

Had David sign my copy of "Unfair Advantage" several years ago when he was racing the Brumos car.

Imagine what he could have accomplished with Rick Mears.    God I'm getting old...  (I was a first year resident at the U of IA hospitals in Iowa City when I got the news...)

Advertisement

#2 Ray Bell

Ray Bell

• 80,252 posts

Posted 21 August 2020 - 03:26

What I recall of this death was the surprise of it all...

There must have been a lot of confidence that he wouldn't succumb.

#3 Nemo1965

Nemo1965

• 7,870 posts

Posted 21 August 2020 - 07:45

What I recall of this death was the surprise of it all...

There must have been a lot of confidence that he wouldn't succumb.

Regarding that, I can't say that I remember it, because I followed F1 but was quite young... but afterwards I have read that Mark was conscious, talked freely and did not seem hurt at all. But, as we all know, he got a headache, that got worse and worse and then succumbed to a bleeding in his brains in the hospital. 

So yeah, the general idea was that Mark would be fine. But then again, the same was thought of Ronnie Peterson after Monza, in first instance. Now I write that down, I remember in first instance at Monza, the greatest worry was about Brambilla. Why? Because a pole had struck his head, just like with Donohue...

#4 2F-001

2F-001

• 4,245 posts

Posted 21 August 2020 - 11:39

I remember being both shocked and upset by the unexpected outcome.