It's still not a slam dunk penalty for max, though. If the stewards view it that Leclerc had overtaken inappropriately then leclerc would be penalised but Max wouldn't
Based on the Kimi penalty it is.
No / Driver: 7 - Kimi Raikkonen
Competitor: Alfa Romeo Racing ORLEN
Fact: Car 7 failed to enter the pit lane for the restart.
Offence: Breach of Article 42.6 FIA Formula One Sporting Regulations.
Decision: A ten second stop-and-go time penalty. As this was assessed after the race it is
converted to a 30 second time penalty in accordance with Art 38.3 of the FIA Formula
1 Sporting Regulations.
Reason: The Stewards heard from the driver of Car 7 (Kimi Raikkonen), and the team
representative and reviewed multiple angles of video evidence, telemetry and team
On the lap before the re-start following the race suspension, Raikkonen spun at Turn
3. Art 42.6 indicates that the driver may retake his position, so long as he does so
prior to the first safety car line (SC1). At first the team instructed him to do so, but
then told him to hold his position.
Art 42.6 then indicates that should a driver fail to take his position he must enter the
pit lane and can only re-join the race once the whole field has passed the pit exit.
Art 42.12 indicates that during a rolling start, once the safety car turns its lights out,
“No driver may overtake another car on the track until he passes the Line…” In this
case, the driver caught up to the cars ahead of him between Turn 13 and 14, but the
safety car turned its lights out at approximately Turn 10. This would appear to be a
contradictory instruction and the team instructed the driver to not regain his position,
fearing that this would create a safety issue in the wet conditions. They radioed the
Race Director, but there was no time for a response between their call and the
The Stewards consider it to be a further contradiction that when the cars are behind
the safety car during a safety car period, the are prohibited from passing, but when
they are behind the safety car for a restart, they are permitted to – even though the
reasons for a rolling start are that the track conditions don’t permit a standing start.
However, the rule requiring a car to enter the pit lane if it fails to regain its position is
consistent amongst several championships, has been in the FIA Formula One Sporting
Regulations for several years and has been consistently applied.
The penalty is a mandatory penalty, and therefore the Stewards consider that they
have no alternative than to apply this penalty for reasons of consistency.
Competitors are reminded that they have the right to appeal certain decisions of the
Stewards, in accordance with Article 15 of the FIA International Sporting Code and
Article 10.1.1 of the FIA Judicial and Disciplinary Rules, within the applicable time
Edited by Timorous, 19 April 2021 - 15:30.