Photo

Mid 1980s Novice Racing classes and regulations?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 awareing138

awareing138

• 2 posts

Posted 22 August 2024 - 11:18

Any old racers out there who can recall the regulations around novice racers starting down a racing career?

I am a published author working on a new book that is set around the amateur racing scene of the mid-1980s. Can anybody recall (or have documentation) that stipulates the different motorcycle classes and the requirements for a novice to get the racing license and ultimately loose the orange dayglo vest I seem to recall that was mandatory for the first few races?

Any help would be appreciated!

Advertisement

#2 exclubracer

exclubracer

• 1,726 posts

Posted 23 August 2024 - 20:25

Interesting subject, here goes...

as a sometime club racer it took me a while to lose my wally bib, working overseas/offshore etc.

If I remember correctly you needed 10 signatures from 4 different circuits to lose the bib. Sometimes if you did a 2 day meeting at the same circuit that qualified for 2 signatures. If you weren't lapped too many times there wasn't much of a problem getting your ticket signed, a bit of begging, grovelling and excuses for a dismal performance usually did the trick.

For the national licence I think it was 10 finishes in the top 50% at 4 different circuits.

I've probably got some of this wrong so I'll stand in the corner and wait to be corrected.

Regards.

Mick C.

#3 tonyed

tonyed

• 986 posts

Posted 24 August 2024 - 11:51

By the mid 80's I'd retired from racing, I did some in the mid 90s but I don't remember having to wear a bib in the 90s, although I was on a restricted license as I'd let my international license lapse for too many years.

When I started in the 60s requirements were quite minimal. Some riders in the 50s, there first ride was the MGP.