Photo

The luxembourgeoise ZIG

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 FlyingSaucer

FlyingSaucer

• 127 posts

Posted Yesterday, 13:27

Since in one of my posts some people had said that they had never heard of the ZIG luxembourgeoise F3 car, I decided to create a small post to talk specifically about this vehicle and save this information somewhere. It should be said that I am not an expert on this car, and simply I became interested in subject due to my own involvement in the text described under, and everything written below was collected from various pieces of information I found on the internet.

For the full feature of the early Luxembourg GPs, go to: https://sportscardig...urg-grand-prix/

The story of ZIG begins at the end of the 40s, in a Luxembourg destroyed by the war. The reintroduction of motorsport on the European continent in the post-war context was already underway, and one of the main disciplines that participated in this process was the 500cc F3. Jos Zigrand, the most prominent Luxembourg driver of its time (having participated in some races in the BENELUX region between the 30s and 40s) wanted to participate in this process, designing, for this purpose, a single-seater car built entirely in Luxembourg, with the intention of participating in this category. This choice was not due to a lack of funds, as Zigrand was the main salesman and representative of the Bugatti brand in the Grand-Duchy, which certainly demonstrates that Jos would not have any financial problems to buy a cutting-edge F3 car, such as a J.B.S. or a Cooper; however, this was not Zigrand's objective, who persisted in his objective of creating a new type of industry in his country.