Photo

First Impressions of Jaguar R4

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 WebberF1

WebberF1

• 86 posts

Posted 24 January 2003 - 06:19

OK, some of you have commented on the Toyota TF03 and BAR05 and I am supprised no-one has commented on the Jaguar R4. Can you please give your first impressions.

I am no techie but I do read your posts and try to keep up with some of the interesting F1 related posts within this forum.

My 2 cents worth from a general overview/look at the car from the limited photos I have seen is that, the R4 rear end is still very bulky compared to the opposition. BAR, Toyota and Renault seem to have gone the way of the F2002 and trimmed down the rear end for obvious aero reasons.

It could be a bit of an illusion from the overhead shots (R4) as the flip ups could be making it look bulkier than it really is. Some other shots indicate that perhaps it could be an illusion but I am yet to see a good photo on the rear of the car.

I am interested to hear from you any impressions you may have and perhaps in comparison to the rest of the field or previous Jag's (R2/R3).

Advertisement

#2 MRC

MRC

• 308 posts

Posted 25 January 2003 - 00:42

It seems they tried to get the exhaust outlets placed very far back. I wonder if this is an effort to get a better interaction with the exhaust and rear wing.

#3 scarbs

scarbs

• 743 posts

Posted 27 January 2003 - 12:21

IMO
Jaguar have gone for simple rethink of the R3 for the R4. The R3 was full of problems and Jagaur have had to look inwards to cure the problems, rather than look at what everyone else is doing to update the car. Hence the changes are all quite logical, yet still the question remains whether the gains will be enough to keep up with the fiercely competitive midfield this year.