Photo

A.J. at Spa?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Mike Argetsinger

Mike Argetsinger

• 948 posts

Posted 08 December 2003 - 23:07

I have just been told by a normally reliable source that A.J. Foyt practiced the Eagle at Spa the weekend of the 1967 Belgian GP with the intent of racing that weekend. The story is that he decided against it and went home. This was the week after he and Gurney won LeMans.

Is this common knowledge? I have absolutely never heard it before - but I learn something every day. But this one, I just think I would have heard of.

I was at Spa for the GP in '66, '68, and '70 but missed Dan's big year in '67, so I have no first hand experience on which to confirm or refute this. Anyone else know of this?

Advertisement

#2 Vitesse2

Vitesse2
  • Administrator

• 41,859 posts

Posted 08 December 2003 - 23:17

DSJ's report in Motor Sport says AAR were intending to run McLaren in a second car, but hadn't a reliable spare engine available. No mention of Foyt. There are several gaps in the entry list though - Gurney was #36 but there was no 37 or 38 and Bonnier was #39.

Doth the plot thicken?

#3 Gerr

Gerr

• 696 posts

Posted 09 December 2003 - 06:53

Don't know if he practiced at Spa or not.

But HNM in R&T had this in the Dutch GP report.

"I gather that none other than the celebrated A.J. Foyt is due to drive the spare (Eagle) at Spa ( a classic case of jumping off the deep end to learn to swim ) and possibly Bruce McLaren will get the third. I can only imagine that Goodyear, who supplied a fair amount of support, has summoned Foyt, as he could make as much from one dirt race as he could from winning five GPs."

And in the Belgian GP report.