Photo

V8 Supercar Engines

• Please log in to reply
85 replies to this topic

#1 Kevin Thomas

Kevin Thomas

• 63 posts

Posted 20 June 2007 - 02:54

Are there any differences between a Holden V8 and A Chevrolet smallblock? Or Ford US and Ford AU engines?
Just curious if they followed their own evolution or not.

Advertisement

#2 cosworth bdg

cosworth bdg

• 1,350 posts

Posted 20 June 2007 - 03:12

Originally posted by Kevin Thomas
Are there any differences between a Holden V8 and A Chevrolet smallblock? Or Ford US and Ford AU engines?

A very interesting question ??

#3 Lukin

Lukin

• 1,983 posts

Posted 20 June 2007 - 04:18

The V8 Supercar blocks are sourced from the US yeah; GM Racing and Ford Racing US.

#4 cheapracer

cheapracer

• 10,388 posts

Posted 20 June 2007 - 05:43

If im not mistaken, historically that is, Larry Perkins was the last to win with an Aussie (305?) block at Bathurst when all the others had the Chev.

I'm really no expert though.

#5 cosworth bdg

cosworth bdg

• 1,350 posts

Posted 20 June 2007 - 05:55

Non of us are experts, but you may just be correct....

#6 cheapracer

cheapracer

• 10,388 posts

Posted 20 June 2007 - 06:00

Not often I'm right, but I may just be wrong this time.

#7 ray b

ray b

• 2,962 posts

Posted 20 June 2007 - 06:04

the original cleveland HI-PO head 1970spec usa build lived on in aussie production for many years
and even the mid power v2 head was reimported from downunder

so basic bit may be the same but year build is different

#8 Ray Bell

Ray Bell

• 81,163 posts

Posted 20 June 2007 - 08:36

I'm no expert, but I was given to understand that the Ford engine is a Windsor...

#9 cosworth bdg

cosworth bdg

• 1,350 posts

Posted 21 June 2007 - 07:12

Originally posted by Ray Bell
I'm no expert, but I was given to understand that the Ford engine is a Windsor...

Ray, you are correct..

#10 ray b

ray b

• 2,962 posts

Posted 22 June 2007 - 17:44

there are two small block ford familys post 69-70