Photo

750cc supercharged F1 car(s)

• Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#1 jc_nl

jc_nl

• 43 posts

Posted 25 September 2000 - 19:44

At one time the F1 rules allowed 750 cc supercharged engines, they were not used very often. Someone in an other forum asked which car with an enigine like that actualy drove in a race weekend.

The only thing I have been able to find so far, thanks to a small hint, is that it probably drove in the non-championship race at Syracuse in 1955.

Does anyone know which car this is?
Or does anyone have more information about cars with this type of engine?

Advertisement

#2 Felix Muelas

Felix Muelas

• 1,209 posts

Posted 25 September 2000 - 20:13

Mmmh...how tempting!

Who will do the honours?

;-)
Felix

#3 jc_nl

jc_nl

• 43 posts

Posted 25 September 2000 - 20:31

If you have some books it probably is not such a dificult question. But I am just a poor student (I am thinking of starting the "Help Johan trough the winter fundation", if anyone want to donate money please do so) so I don't have a lot of F1 books :(

#4 John Cross

John Cross

• 139 posts

Posted 25 September 2000 - 20:34

OK Felix, since I'm here...

You are probably thinking of the DB-Panhard which ran in the 1955 Pau GP driven by Claude Storez and Paul Armagnac. Had the circuit been flat they might have stood a quarter of a chance, but the steep hills proved too much. They never ran again as far as I know.

It had a supercharged 746cc Panhard engine giving 85 bhp driving the front wheels. It only weighed 350 kg (versus 180 bhp and 600 kg of most of the other cars). Definitely a 'motor racing maverick'!

#5 Felix Muelas

Felix Muelas

• 1,209 posts

Posted 25 September 2000 - 20:39

JC

No, it is not a difficult question, my comment was an ironic one, because dealing with the 750s/c F1s is one of those questions that I am sure many of us are willing to...