Photo

Popping over to the Castle Combe Autumn Classic... from Australia

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 jeremy durward

jeremy durward

• 288 posts

Posted 05 September 2016 - 03:19

Hi there, I'm coming over to England in a few weeks time for an event with my girlfriends family and while I'm there I thought I better check out some racing. It's my first time in the country, but after looking around I saw that the autumn classic is on at Castle Combe and that fits in with the travel plans so that's where I'm heading. Can anyone give me any advice on where to watch and other details a first timer should know? Or even better, if others from here are going and are willing to meet up? 

Advertisement

#2 sabrejet

sabrejet

• 896 posts

Posted 05 September 2016 - 04:45

Castle Combe is a very spectator-friendly circuit: anywhere on the circuit is a good place to watch! Paddock access is great and you can also stand alongside the pits to watch any action there. The circuit has in recent years placed a lot of raised banking round the periphery and as a result I'd say it's pretty much the best track to spectate at!

Having said that, Quarry corner is usually the best place to watch: it's a tricky, multiple apex corner with many different lines and many overtaking opportunities. I'd suggest picking a spot there but also taking the time to walk round the circuit when the opportunity arises. Another favourite of mine is Camp Corner - the corner just before the start line: you get great views of the chicane and it's also a good place to watch those demon starts. Camp is a quick one for those with the confidence and so is quite an impressive place to view from.

Only other advice would be to get there early and have a good, long walk round the paddock! 

Combe has continuous spectator viewing round the outside of the circuit, and so you can move round without ever missing any action.  

#3 jeremy durward

jeremy durward

• 288 posts