Photo
- - - - -

Why did front engine won so easily over rear engine in small cars?

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Hati

Hati

• 6,966 posts

Posted 09 February 2024 - 18:38

There were cheap rear engine rear wheel drive small cars in 60s but they were replaced with front wheel drive front engine cars. Why? I'm not a car engineer but I would think that a rear engine with rear wheel drive is simpler technology and thus cheaper to make than a front wheel drive car where you have to get the power to the turning wheels. And still there were only FF or FR cars in 70s with only one or two remnants from the 60s hanging on RR. What makes front engine so superior over rear engine?

Advertisement

#2 MikeTekRacing

MikeTekRacing

• 12,310 posts

Posted 09 February 2024 - 20:20

I think there are many reasons, I can think about some:

- weight distribution (this impacts handling, and also general layout of the car). in order to mitigate it you have to have a rather short car - that comes with less space (and cargo space) in general

- the only cost advantage is in RWD configuration  if you have AWD or FWD you're back where you started.

rear engine made sense for very small cars initially - as people wanted more out of tiny cars - they did not make sense anymore.

They still exist in areas where cargo space is not an issue :)

#3 Greg Locock

Greg Locock

• 6,369 posts

Posted 09 February 2024 - 21:54

FR needs a longer car than RR or FF. FF is better than RR because (a) crash, you decelerate the engine as hard as you like and reserve more of your crumple space for the passengers , whereas with RR the passengers are the meat in the sandwich(b) limit handling, RR tends towards oversteer, FF tends towards understeer. © your rear axle design becomes much simpler with FF than with either of the other 2.

I'm sure there are other reasons

#4 Nathan

Nathan

• 7,113 posts

Posted 11 February 2024 - 22:17