Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Joey Logano's glove


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Lee Nicolle

Lee Nicolle
  • Member

  • 11,061 posts
  • Joined: July 08

Posted 27 February 2024 - 05:25

Logano got penalties for his glove not being sfi. Evidently parts of it were sewn together a a web.

What the hell is all of this? Nascar even more stupid than F1 where drivers drove with their hand over a ductt for some period.



Advertisement

#2 jcbc3

jcbc3
  • RC Forum Host

  • 12,918 posts
  • Joined: November 04

Posted 27 February 2024 - 07:49

Well, I'm a bit stumped. The infraction was blatantly obvious, so Penske must have thought it was legal. However, NASCAR most certainly doesn't think so. What gives?



#3 GreenMachine

GreenMachine
  • Member

  • 2,645 posts
  • Joined: March 04

Posted 27 February 2024 - 08:06

Interesting.

 

I would have thought it was pretty simple:  tamper with a rated item, and the rating is automatically invalidated.  That doesn't say it is more or less safe that the original item, just that it is no longer a compliant item.  What follows from that?

 

Some people get carried away with their own smartness, and sometimes it bites them in the bum.



#4 loki

loki
  • Member

  • 12,233 posts
  • Joined: May 02

Posted 27 February 2024 - 08:09

If one modifies an approved safety device it’s no longer considered approved.  Nascar also has a more specific rule where the glove fingers can’t be joined.



#5 jcbc3

jcbc3
  • RC Forum Host

  • 12,918 posts
  • Joined: November 04

Posted 27 February 2024 - 08:40

But how did Penske believe they could get away with it, since it was broadcast on tv is what I can't get my head around.



#6 Secretariat

Secretariat
  • Member

  • 825 posts
  • Joined: July 11

Posted 27 February 2024 - 12:29

But how did Penske believe they could get away with it, since it was broadcast on tv is what I can't get my head around.

NASCAR is trying to stamp out "some" of the old school mentality. They want the rules to be the rules and not the rules are a suggestion. This case was a clear cut "you cannot do that" when looking at the rules, but still there are those that see rules as a suggestion. In this specific case, it could be something done at the driver/engineer level and not something that necessarily goes up the chain so to speak. The penalty he got still allows for a calculus of risk/reward, particularly at these style of tracks (new Atlanta, Daytona, Talladega) because you can make up the disadvantage. The question is: will he face additional sanctions? My opinion is he should not. Just make the in-race penalty harsher.



#7 Risil

Risil
  • Administrator

  • 61,728 posts
  • Joined: February 07

Posted 27 February 2024 - 12:47

Missed all this but it seems very interesting. What was Logano doing, how did the modification of his glove help, and what were he and Penske trying to achieve?



#8 Nathan

Nathan
  • Member

  • 7,059 posts
  • Joined: February 00

Posted 27 February 2024 - 12:51

Trying to block some of the air leaking into the cockpit (drag) during his qualifying run.



#9 Primo

Primo
  • Member

  • 2,678 posts
  • Joined: March 22

Posted 27 February 2024 - 12:57

So big hands are an advantage on ovals? 



#10 Peat

Peat
  • Member

  • 8,849 posts
  • Joined: November 09

Posted 27 February 2024 - 13:10

73jOUTl.gif



#11 Secretariat

Secretariat
  • Member

  • 825 posts
  • Joined: July 11

Posted 27 February 2024 - 13:10

Missed all this but it seems very interesting. What was Logano doing, how did the modification of his glove help, and what were he and Penske trying to achieve?

Decent article here in my opinion with driver quotes from Parker Kligerman.

 

https://www.roadandt...ting-explained/



#12 Risil

Risil
  • Administrator

  • 61,728 posts
  • Joined: February 07

Posted 27 February 2024 - 13:13

Thank you!

#13 Risil

Risil
  • Administrator

  • 61,728 posts
  • Joined: February 07

Posted 27 February 2024 - 13:14

[quote name="Peat" post="10512950" timestamp="1709039426"]

73jOUTl.gif

"The first such incident occurred at Darlington in 1992"

#14 Brackets

Brackets
  • Member

  • 5,380 posts
  • Joined: June 14

Posted 27 February 2024 - 15:22

Oh for Pete's sake give us a picture of the glove already!

 

Anyway, from the article linked above: "In trucks, we try to pull the window net as far forward as possible, drivers will wear black gloves so as they come down the backstretch on the out lap they can try and pull it forward to block the air entering off the A-post. "

 

How does being black help here in any way!? To make it less visible for the stewards? But pulling the net is not per se illegal, is it? (Blocking the triangle with a non-conform glove, of course, is)


Edited by Brackets, 27 February 2024 - 15:23.


#15 Secretariat

Secretariat
  • Member

  • 825 posts
  • Joined: July 11

Posted 27 February 2024 - 15:51

https://www.roadandt...-altered-glove/

 

Pic of the glove is in the article.



#16 Afterburner

Afterburner
  • RC Forum Host

  • 9,203 posts
  • Joined: January 11

Posted 27 February 2024 - 16:24

Do they still only use the driver weight from the start of the season? Andy Lally has a fabulous story of Marcus Ambrose showing up to pre-season scrutineering in a parka loaded with tools and batteries (in sunny Daytona Beach) to boost his season weight for ballast by 20 lbs (thus netting him a 20 lb weight advantage for the season). If they're not weighing the drivers at every race, cracking down on a glove seems a bit symbolic...



#17 Myrvold

Myrvold
  • Member

  • 15,958 posts
  • Joined: December 10

Posted 27 February 2024 - 16:59

Do they still only use the driver weight from the start of the season? Andy Lally has a fabulous story of Marcus Ambrose showing up to pre-season scrutineering in a parka loaded with tools and batteries (in sunny Daytona Beach) to boost his season weight for ballast by 20 lbs (thus netting him a 20 lb weight advantage for the season). If they're not weighing the drivers at every race, cracking down on a glove seems a bit symbolic...

 

They might be. I seem to recall they talking about it in one of the Daytona races, but that ever driver now had to do the weigh-in in their underwear. Somewhere I read something about "just wait for some to use an insanely heavy, large rear-end plug to get an advantage".



#18 eibyyz

eibyyz
  • Member

  • 1,825 posts
  • Joined: March 10

Posted 27 February 2024 - 17:43

One black glove.  Who does Joey think he is, Oscar Zeta Acosta?  https://www.nbcnews....ld-ride-n859201


Edited by eibyyz, 27 February 2024 - 20:53.


#19 John B

John B
  • Member

  • 7,960 posts
  • Joined: June 99

Posted 27 February 2024 - 18:34

If it was IMSA, the BoP penalty would be for a glove that exceeded the team's previously declared finger specifications (four weeks later)....

 

Racing was more entertaining without all this BS.....


Edited by John B, 27 February 2024 - 18:37.